1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

180-200 whp - turbo or swap?

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by 8wrench, Mar 18, 2008.

1. 8wrench

8wrench New Member

I am looking to turn my 92 si into a reliable DD with around 180-200 WHP, and I'm looking for insight as to whether I should boost my z6 or do a b-series swap. I have never driven either so I have no experience in terms of which I like more or the differences in drivability, if anyone has driven both can leave some feedback it would be appreciated.

Basically I don't have the time or the knowledge to do major work like a swap, I work between 25-28 days a month and I am looking for a fun, reliable driver for when I am in town. I would like to go with the more cost efficient option, although if one is far better than the other I wouldn't mind spending some extra cash.

2. AHHVTEC

AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

i would just boost the d series with good tune

3. 8wrench

8wrench New Member

4. AHHVTEC

well you can turbo what you have for less than what a swap will cost. i mean 180 hp is perty easy to get with a tubo d

5. nootrac22

nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

*waits for blanco*

6. Turbo&Auto

Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

^werd, this is def his thread :)

They are right though, boost the current engine. Your HP goals are very realistic and reasonable. A homemade turbo setup on that motor would be cheap and get you what youre after.

7. 8wrench

8wrench New Member

Perfect thanks for the replies. Yeah I'm still pretty new but Blanco seems like he knows his shit, I'd be interested in hearing his .02.