180-200 whp - turbo or swap?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

8wrench

I am looking to turn my 92 si into a reliable DD with around 180-200 WHP, and I'm looking for insight as to whether I should boost my z6 or do a b-series swap. I have never driven either so I have no experience in terms of which I like more or the differences in drivability, if anyone has driven both can leave some feedback it would be appreciated.

Basically I don't have the time or the knowledge to do major work like a swap, I work between 25-28 days a month and I am looking for a fun, reliable driver for when I am in town. I would like to go with the more cost efficient option, although if one is far better than the other I wouldn't mind spending some extra cash.

well you can turbo what you have for less than what a swap will cost. i mean 180 hp is perty easy to get with a tubo d

^werd, this is def his thread :)

They are right though, boost the current engine. Your HP goals are very realistic and reasonable. A homemade turbo setup on that motor would be cheap and get you what youre after.

Perfect thanks for the replies. Yeah I'm still pretty new but Blanco seems like he knows his shit, I'd be interested in hearing his .02.

Basically if I'm doing the turbo D I want to rebuild everything since the engine has 257,000 km (167,000 miles) on it. I'm trying to gather a list of all the little common wear and tear parts I need, trying to figure out which parts need a major rebuild etc. I want solid power all the way through the band, with worry free RPMs to 8500 or so.

The engine is dirty as fuck too if I get a day off sometime I'd like to make it look nice again, I almost went for a swap so I wouldn't have to mess around finding replacement odds and ends so the bay doesn't look ghetto.

ahh hell man if your doing a rebuild your good to go, just get better rods and you can go for 200+..but yea blanco is the d series king around these parts.