1988 Integra Swap PLEASE HELP

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Darkstar

I am a small town Honda Mechanic, I have a customer with a 1988 Integra, D16A1, He is wanting a swap to a higher HP engine, Does anyone know my options? hes wanting something in the 150-170 HP range original is like 113 HP i believe. Whats the Easiest swap, and whats available to swap with the D16A1? Even if its not "EASY" what other engine/trans swaps are Useable in this application

black valve cover D16A1 from a 88-89 integra is 118 horsepower...
the brown valve covers in the 86-87 had 113

as far as swapping, you could look for a ZC or D16A8, or D16A9, these are euro or JDM motors and will net about 140 horse...

if he wants 150-170 then you;re talking money, BIG MONEY

an LS swap from a 90 integra will net you 140, but you need lots of modification, for more info on ANY b series swap into an 88 integra check hasport.com, they sell the mount kits and have good instructions for the install

cheapest biggest horse = h22 swap approx 2000-2200 for an h22 swap, then mounts, shift linkage to shifter cables, cable to hydro clutch conversion, OBD0 to OBD1 wiring conversion.. etc etc etc
plus axle modification, and i;m not sure if they make a kit for an H series into an 88 teg...

if you are good at fabrication you could make a ton of money setting him up with a custom turbo kit...
you can use the HF manifold with any turbo, junkyard intercooler, etc etc etc, and he should be able to get to the 150-170 range... higher with proper tuning...

or you can look for a set of cams to get him to maybe 130-140 if you open up the intake and get a header for it... a port and polish will also add some horses...

you're talking a lot of money for just about every motor swap except for the ZC or D16A8/9 but these motors are kinda rare and be ware of getting ripped in the ass if you don't know your honda blocks...