1990 civic si hatch ls vtec have ?'s need help/advice

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

hada88crxsi

Hi all,
I am new to the swap scene but have drove stock ef's all my life...............
This is my 1990 civic Si hatch I bought a while ago here are my ?'s and my future plans for it so keep my future plans in mind when giving advice so I won't spend $ twice lol.Thanks for looking!

b18a bottom end with a fresh pr3 head, running a virgin pr3 ecu ,pr3 5 speed trans,

When I got it the vtec wire was plugged into the h2o sensor and the h2o wire was plugged into the vtec.

The bottom end smokes I have no clue of the miles on it,It pulls hard and vtec rips it is a real torque monster once you get it reved up the problem is when you are driving @ a certain speed and aren't giving it gas it acts like you are on and off the gas I don't know the term to describe this....hesitation then goes.......What ecu are you all running with this set up?Check engine light is on....

The other issue I have is it has stock style motor mounts and the front torque mount that attatches to the crossmember doesnt line up right.I can get 1 bolt in the trans and the long bolt and nut through the crossmember.This causes the motor/trans to rock and I hear a banging noise when I hit the gas.I was told I didn't need the torque mount so I took it off and it just made it worse...Should I buy aftermarket mounts?If I do will I need this torque mount?What are you guys that run the traction bar/tubular crossmember doing?Do you need the torque mount while running the traction bar?

I have another thing I need your opinions....

I have the 90 si hatch above it has the typical honda cancer....I also have a 89 si hatch that is a 1.6 sohc all stock no rust It was my daily driver it smoked real bad but got 30 miles to the gallon .....it just popped the headgasket last week....