1991 honda civic si swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

smufster

i own a 1991 honda civic hatchback si
im addicted to driveing.. im a delivery driver
im looking to do an engine swap and as much power and least weight
any suggestions?

what would be the best weight to power engine
if you were me what would you put in?
priceing wise..on a $1000 budget.. should i get a b16 from a autowrecker with tranny?

Last edited:
Have fun finding that deal. But ya if you can find a good one for 1000 bucks go for it!

with 1k..look for a b18...but keep in mind you will need mounts,shift linkage,ecu,axles,and some various things to do the swap..if you want a little more power without changing weight then do a minime,

+1 Mini me is really cheap and gets you some good power.

You could spend the rest of the 1k on some go fast goodies.

^yup....or just boost the stock motor...do a homemade turbo,and get a really good tune,run 10 psi on stock motor..

My vote goes to a proper Z6 swap, which includes the OBDI conversion.

I happen to have the converted engine harness for a Z6 into a '91 Si hatch, distributor conversion harness, and the OBDI conversion harness. From RyWire.com you'd pay $319 plus shipping. How does $280 plus shipping sound? I also have the VTEC/O2 subharness you'll need for another $40...it's $55 at RyWire.com. Then, provided your Z6 comes with the distributor and O2 sensor, all you have to do is hook everything up and it'll fire right up. I'm willing to sell for two reasons, 1) my Si is wrecked and I'm getting an EG hatch to put the Z6 into and 2) I could use the money for some drum gear.

x2 the Z6 is a great engine and can be easily upgraded later for turbo and they take a turbo really well. I'm doing a Z6 swap into a crx shortly with a small T25 turbo for daily driving. And a/c since I'm in hot as all get out Arizona!