1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1997 vtec prelude swap non vtec

Discussion in 'Prelude' started by RAHN84, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. RAHN84

    RAHN84 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Our shop has a 1997 prelude vtec . Engine i have is a non vtec can it be done?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    what did the motor come out of and what year.
     
  3. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    We're going to need a lot more info than that...
     
  4. RAHN84

    RAHN84 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    1997 honda prelude vtec 2.0 company sent me a non vtec motor and said that was how it was ordered. Not wanting to pay another 500 shipping. Can this work? What needs to be changed if possible
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you need to look on the motor and see for sure what motor it is.i dont know of any 97+ preludes that didnt all come vtec.
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Are you in the US are no?
     
  7. RAHN84

    RAHN84 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    The motor that came out had the crank sensor wire coming out of timing cover. The new motor (non vtec) has no crank sensor wire coming out of timing cover. Also old motor has an oil pressure housing by distributor. New one does not
     
  8. RAHN84

    RAHN84 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    New motor f22b (non vtec) . Old motor h22 a4 1007372 (vtec)
     
  9. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yes its perty much the very same motor, just less hp and torq. you will need a different ecu, you need the one for the f22. but other than that giving that it came out of the same gen car, it should be a plug and play.
     
  10. RAHN84

    RAHN84 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    New problem. I have the non vtec in car. The non vtec engine came out of a manual transmission car. The car has an automatic transmission. The wiring harness has no plug ins for tranny
     
  11. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    use your stock wiring harness.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page