1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1999 Civic Si motor swap

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by blueSi, Jun 1, 2005.

  1. blueSi

    blueSi Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    I recently bought a 1999 Civic Si that already had a swap done. It is a OBD1 b16a2 i do believe. anyways, i am having trouble getting the car inspected because the inspection computer wont comunicate with the car. Is there anything i can do? I need some suggestions.
     
  2. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,119
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    b16a2s are obd2b, and they're the stock engine. Do you know what ecu is in there though? 99-00 Si ECUs are p2Ts.
     
  3. blueSi

    blueSi Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    the engine and ecu are out of a sirII. im not sure off the top of my head what it is. i would have to look.
     
  4. blueSi

    blueSi Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    the ecu is OBDI P28
     
  5. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,119
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I'm not familiar with inspection computers or how they hook it up since Indiana doesn't have inspections. Are there different connectors for obdI and obdII? They might have just been using the obdII connections if there are.
     
  6. blueSi

    blueSi Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    well when they hook everything up the computer recognizes the car as obdII because of the year, however, when they hook it up to the car it doesnt do anything. I dont know if it is because of the engine managment it has or what. I am kind of stuck between a rock and a hard place.
     
  7. jdmeg6

    jdmeg6 Senior Member

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    So you say that its already had a swap done to it. Are you for sure that it's a B16A2 under the hood? If so, thats the stock motor and no swap was done to it, or if there was a swap done to it they just took the motor you have now out while the real swap was in place. Almost sounds like it's a B16A
     
  8. blueSi

    blueSi Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    yes that is what it is. A JDM B16A SiR-II motor swap
     
  9. jdmeg6

    jdmeg6 Senior Member

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    I think that they just need to test it as an OBD-I equipped vehicle instead of thinking that it is still using the stock setup which was OBD-II. By the way, what state is this in?
     
  10. blueSi

    blueSi Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    North Carolina
     
  11. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,119
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003


    That's what I was getting at myself. Go in there and tell them it's an OBDI ecu/engine setup and have them test it that way.
     
  12. blueSi

    blueSi Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005


    cool, i will havee to try that. thanks for the help
     
  13. 94accordex

    94accordex Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Has anybody noticed that this shit is in the wrong forum?
     
  14. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,119
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    haha I did after I couldn't find it.

    I IMd a mod but he was off playing some game.

    IM'ing another mod...
     
  15. spectacle

    spectacle Senior Member

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, Fl
    If you have a P28 ECU in your car it is no longer OBD2 to any diagnostic tool. The OBD2 port they use to plug into your car will not work.
     
  16. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Did it get moved? Because it is in the right forum.
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home


    get a p2t and plug it in.

    with the p28 thats in there now, there a good chance a knock wire was never hooked up, so it may throw a code for that. double check that its hooked up.

    like said, the p28 is obd1 and doesn't have obd diagnostics features (like the scan tool) that obd2 has
     
  18. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,119
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003


    Yeah, after I pm'd jamie and Brian both someone finally moved it... it was in auto appearance.

    edit: I'd like to know if scanning it as obdI worked for him.

    If not B has a good suggestion.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page