2000 prelude help

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

nesluopetan

hey guys.. im new here and want to thank you all in advance for your help. I will be honest, im new to hondas.. I have a couple v8 11sec cars however this is my first honda and i am going to rely on you guys big time for help.

here is my situation. I just bought a car out of state and had it shipped to me in utah. My elevation is 4800 ft and it came from sealevel, so obviously my car is running WAY rich.. No biggie, its at a local tuning shop right now and its being dyno tuned and having a new chip burned for it and ill have it back in a couple days running great..

however,

it has the obd ii to obd i conversion on it. the stock computer is gone. the dude that i bought it from didn't have emissions so he didnt care about keeping it. the car runs just fine and clean and fun, however I have no idea how to get this to pass emissions since the OBD II computer is gone. they wont let me sniff it in the tail pipe either, it has to be passed through OBD II..

option 1:

one option a few people said is just borrow or buy a 97-01 prelude computer and throw it in my car, and put in stock injectors and turn it on and drive it nice and not go in boost and get it passed, then take it back out and switch it back to my obd i setup..

problem: we tried this. my friend has a 99 prelude and we took his computer and put it in my car and my damn car wouldnt start.. i believe its the security thing with these cars that since it didnt match the key, it wont start.. just cranks.