1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

200whp b18a1?

Discussion in 'Integra' started by jdm_hatch, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. jdm_hatch

    jdm_hatch New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    minnesota
    hi i was wondering how much money, time,and parts it would take to get 200whp with a b18a1 all motor and then compare that to lsvtec and turbo b18a1

    kuz im not really sure what to go with
    i just wanna get more bang for my bunk u kno
     
  2. 94civicturbo

    94civicturbo New Member

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Liberty, IN
    turbo, injectors, and a good tune
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    He said he wanted all motor.

    To answer the question, I don't know how much it would cost, but probably a hell of a lot more then a simple turbo setup would cost...
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    All motor? B18 block, B16 pistons (JDM P30s if you can find them), shave the head .01 or .02 inches to try and get to 12:1 compression, port the head, then add Crower 404 or 405 cams and TUNE TUNE TUNE. Your low end won't be wonderful, but you'll probably get close to 200whp.
     
  5. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    yeah if you're on a budget, all motor isn't the best if you want power, say you had a budget of $2000, with that you could piece together a nice turbo kit, and tune it. you would probably end up with near 200 maybe a bit more....depending on how good of a tune...which is you're best weapon, either all motor or FI, the tune will make or break you
     
  6. jdm_hatch

    jdm_hatch New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    minnesota
    so then how reliable is it if i build the bottom end
    like stronger bolts, rods, and pistons
     
  7. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    do you mean if you go all motor or if you FI, because all motor it wouldn't make a huge difference, but upgrades never hurt, but if you're talking about FI then same thing it wouldn't hurt but it would also depend on how much boost you want to run
     
  8. jdm_hatch

    jdm_hatch New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    minnesota
    i see i see will i did find an idea of what to do
    im ganna plan on turbo
    and im not really shore on what turbo to use
    i got some ideas of turbos but not a hole lot (there a big head ack)
    so my plan was to get a 14b or t3/t04e
    but i like the 14b more kuz the wastegate is built into it (i think)
    but i do know it is alot cheaper then the t3/t04e
    and yes i know ill have to customize the manifold for the 14b to work
    so what turbo do u think i could get more power out of
    or what one is alot better for my engine (b18a1)
    and my aim for power is 200whp with the turbo kicking in around 3000-6000 rpm
    i know that i big gap but i like the more high rpm
    so help would really help
    thanks
     
  9. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    of course the t3/t04e is going to yield more potential for power
    3000-6000 rpms is a wide range, a 14b would see 10psi @ around 3500 at most
    t3/t04e not until 4k-4500
    if you like higher rpm power stick with a t3/t04e and go from there, itll leave you some room to grow in the future
    200whp is very achievable on a bone stock b18a1, but building the bottom end will ensure its reliable
     
  10. jdm_hatch

    jdm_hatch New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    minnesota
    so does the 14b have a wastegate built into it or no
    and what kind of rpm range would i get out of a t25
     
  11. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    if it's one off of say an eclipse/talon, then it will be, but I think they make after market ones where they don't have internal wastegates. and I believe that the t25 should spool about the same time as the 14b only because they are about the same size
     
  12. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    they both should be internally gated provided that they are used
    as stated before me, there are some aftermarket turbos that originally came internally wastegated but they are now externally wastegated
     
  13. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Actually, it still makes quite a bit of difference. If you spin the engine higher, you want stronger rods that won't stretch as much. Lighter rods and pistons help increase torque too.
     
  14. jdm_hatch

    jdm_hatch New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    minnesota
    ok i did a hole boat loud of research last night and i found out that if i when t series turbo i could custom make my turbo for me so this is what i came out with
    compressor trim / turbine housing exhaust housing A/R strong boost onset rpm
    T04E, 46 trim T31, 76 trim 0.60 housing T3:0.48-.63 4500-5500
    T04E,50-60 trim T31, 76 trim 0.60 housing T3:.82 5000-6000

    so what do you guys think and yes i will build the bottom end
     
  15. jdm_hatch

    jdm_hatch New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    minnesota
    hey one of my friends said he would just give me his T25 turbo
    do you think i should get it from him and use it
    and what type of RMPs would i get out of it at 10-14 psi
     
  16. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    I'm not sure about 14psi....but I'm not sure, but with 10 psi you should be pretty much fully spooled at like 3k
     
  17. jdm_hatch

    jdm_hatch New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    minnesota
    ok cool kuz that wat i thought to
    and i kno 14 psi i need to put stronger rods/pistons in
     
  18. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    yeah most of the time anything over 10/12 psi you should replace internals, I think of it as if you have to change the map sensor then you should upgrade the internals
     
  19. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    "N/A is the expensive way to go slow."
     
  20. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    not necessarily
    not necessarily
    here's why:
    the op is using a t25. it may take him more than 15psi to break that 200whp marker. compression on a stock a1 is low enough to where he wont have to worry about cylinder pressures getting too high until the mid-upper 20's from a turbo that size.
    :werd: !
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page