1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3 bar map sensor

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by formby, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    just unplug your stock map sensor, and splice it in. give the gm a vac source from the manifold. its 3 wires just like ours is.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    green plug:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    wire colors are lettered: see the post-it pic above...
    [​IMG]

    GM sells a pig-tail too... the sensor won't come with it- i suggest you buy it.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]




    lol, sorry i went picture whoring.



    as far as the computer is concerned, just make sure you set the turbo edit to run off the 3-bar, and its done.
     
  3. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    called gm...

    the green map plug (pig tail) part # is 12085502

    and the map sensor part # is 12223861

    thank you B...
     
  4. 4drcivicb18a

    4drcivicb18a Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    philly, PA
    I know vafc are no good, but can a 3 bar map sensor be used with a stock ecu and a vafc??
     
  5. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    no...our ecu's are n/a and dont know what to do with the read outs.....so you need an ems
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    werd, since the voltage range is still the same, 0--5v for WOT and 0% throttle, the increments are way off. the oem ecu won't know what to do with the reading of 1 volt expecting, say 100 cfm of air, vs the 3-bars 1 volt signla when theres 200 cfm of air.

    just numbers for example here...
     
  7. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    this should be a sticky
    :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  9. 4drcivicb18a

    4drcivicb18a Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    philly, PA
    so its impossible, just wondering I have turboedit i was just wondering
     
  10. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    okay...TE is an ems...if your ecu is chipped just have a chip burned that reads the sensor...or i would buy an ostrich from http://www.moates.net.....and make the change
     
  11. 4drcivicb18a

    4drcivicb18a Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    philly, PA
    I know, I have turbo edit and a 3 bar map sensor works fine, but i seen this thread and remembered a friend with a vafc was asking if it was possible to use a 3 bar map sensor with his vafc. sorry for the complication
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    stock ecu cannot use it. you need to have a program that can read and intrepret the 3-bar voltage range, such as a chip
     
  13. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    62 bucks baby...

    [​IMG]



    but its ac delco
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    cool. just make sure its not the 2.5 bar.

    you got it for the 89 Trans am 3.8 v6 turbo right?
     
  15. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
  16. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page