1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3 stage VTEC D15B

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 3stager, Apr 1, 2007.

  1. 3stager

    3stager New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Have a JDM 3 Stage VTEC D15B in my 91 CRX SI.

    Have the correct manual ECU.......P2J-003 installed

    Have custom conversion harness but engine is throwing error codes.....code 14.

    Any good Honda shops or techs in SoCal that can handle the wiring connections
    for a 3 Stage VTEC motor?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    thats the iac valve
     
  3. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    3 stage vtec where can i get one of those sounds tite!!!!
     
  4. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    They're only good if you're looking for better MPG. It's pretty much regular VTEC but with VTEC-E added(E is for Economy). Only engine that I know of that is 3-stage VTEC is the OBD2 JDM D15B.
     
  5. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    um yeah if you say so ive been in the honda game for almost 15years and never heard of 3 stage vtec reason being vtec doesnt work like that it gets a single 12volt signal at a certain rpm thats it
     
  6. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Isn't it possible that the engine could have a secondary vtec solenoid or possibly a dual actuation solenoid with two vtec wires that get their signal from the ecu at different rpms allowing to use three different cam profiles? I believe it and have heard of three stage vtec but i have never seen it.
     
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I guess you weren't in the "Honda game" long enough.

    VTEC It's near the bottom

    D15B 1.5l SOHC VTEC
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    It has two solenoids and each solenoid is actuated by separate 12v signals from the ECU. The ECU is one of a kind since it's the only one that supports 3-stg VTEC; and most guys who run the engine have to convert to that if they want full potential from the engine.
     
  9. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    there is a 3 stage vtec they only come in the obd2 form i also have been deep in the game 15 years
     
  10. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Yo, My logical reasoning was right on. I should be a philosopher or something:p
     
  11. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    ^^^Wow dude 15 years!!! and still no clue about the OBD2 JDM D15B VTEC-E
    That is just amazing trying to own someone and then get owned yourself.....bahahahahaha.:D
     
  12. suspendedHatch

    suspendedHatch audio/security

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Wow, idiots are funny. This motor is pretty common. You can buy them online for around $500, but not from hmotors. You're stupid if you think that the first stage is for nothing other than gas mileage. Running 8 valves from a stop actually makes more power than if you were running 16. The reasons why the VTEC-E Civics are so slow are because 1) the long gearing of the trans and 2) power falls off in the mid/high RPM where the EX/Si motors would switch over to VTEC. In other words, if you have a VTEC-E (let's say D16Y5) motor vs a VTEC (let's say D16Y8) motor, both SOHC, with the same trans, in the same car, all things being equal, the VTEC-E would be faster at the start, and then the VTEC motor would catch up and pass it. Now let's say your motor had VTEC-E from the start, and then had VTEC from 4500 RPM up on the same motor, and let's say you were smart enough to optimize the cam lobes for the entire rev range. What you'd end up with is a motor that is significantly faster than the normal VTEC motor even though the max hp would be about the same. The hp up to 4500 is higher on the Y5 and the 3 stage than on a Y8.
     
  13. 3stager

    3stager New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    I bought my D15B 3 Stage VTEC from HMOTORS(Steve)...........he only had one at the time......it is very clean and was low miles. Got the ECU(P2J-003)........very hard to find.....off EBAY, a parts dealer in malaysia.......Had Rywire do my harness.

    Here is a pic of it installed.......cebu97's photos and albums on webshots
    [​IMG]

    I just need a VTEC tuner to correct some error code......with the IACV......
    Any recommendations for a VTEC tuner in Orange County?

    I liked your explanation of the VTEC-E in this motor.....also check out Mr Wong's
    article on the Temple of VTEC

    Still don't know why this engine did not make it to the States??
     
  14. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    yeah ok i could care less about a single cam motor every car i have has been replaced with dohc vtec motors so yeah sorry i dont know much about a d15b from japan if they were so badass why didnt they just put that in the 96 and up civic hx's or the 92-95 civic vx's the must of been the toned down version of vtec-e piss small throttle body and all only good thing to come from that motor was the 5 wire o2
     
  15. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Anyways, look at the two vtec solenoids, that shit is crazy.
     
  16. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    so basically the 3 stage is just like the gsr or h22? does that mean that i have 3 stage vtec??? hahahahaha i have secondaries too. lol
     
  17. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    do you want a cookie?

    you talk like you think your the shit.. :wall:
     
  18. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    wrong the h22a and gsr only have one solenoid
     
  19. stmotorsports

    stmotorsports Senior Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    I was very interested in building up a 3-stager back in my d-series days

    I think the biggest question I always wondered about this is- if you can convert most OBD1 non-vtec ecus to run vtec, couldn't you just add an additional vtec circuit ie- dual vtec P28?
     
  20. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo

    well first it was a sarcastic comment/question. the second "solonoid" is vacume opperated one for the secondaries....that is what i was getting at.


    i am well aware that my motor only has one soleniod.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page