1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3500 rpm redline

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by jimmyb478, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. jimmyb478

    jimmyb478 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    i have a 89 civic dx wagon just recently converted 2 mpfi.the wiring harness was built right and im running a 91 ex computer but for some reason when its running
    it has a 3500 rpm rev limit and its throwing a crank position sennsor code even tho its hooked up ,has anyone else had this problem:confused:
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  2. monotech909

    monotech909 Got V-tec?

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    wiring problem
     
  3. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,150
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    Run through every wire and check them. But start with the wires to the cps first. Also do you have another ecu or a car you can test the ecu in?
     
  4. MyCrxSiR

    MyCrxSiR New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Alright Mate ,
    Did you get the ECU out of an AUTOMATIC car by anychance ?
    My Mate and i figured out that his was redlining really low with an automatic ECU for some reason we then swapped it for a manual Ecu then it worked fine ?

    Try it if you can source one . It worked for us .

    Good luck my friend. ;)
     
  5. Hmonster

    Hmonster New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    FLA
    there is a jumper wire inside the ECU from automatic to manual.
    all you had to do was take off the cover and look up the scamatic and solder the wire off and onto the other board.
     
  6. 93AccordEX

    93AccordEX New Member

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    dont know if it will help you but i had the same EXACT problem with my 93 accord

    i searched and tryed what people told me to for about 2 months

    i finally found out it was the distributor

    so here is an idea but one stick it in see if it stops if it dont just return it

    and yes i was getting the same crank position sennsor code
     
  7. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I agree with both of these guys. I had the same problem when I got my P28. The solder wasn't very clean, so to speak, so after it got re-done, voila! Hello five speed converted P28 with no problems. It used to get stuck at 4,000rpm, by the way.
     
  8. MELLOYELLOCRX

    MELLOYELLOCRX New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    3500 redline

    had same prolem when i did my swap, came out to be in the wiring at the ecu.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page