5th gen hatch swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

here2chill

I am new to doing swaps, and for that, any mechanical work at all. I have a 5th gen hatch, unfortunately automatic. I am doing fiberglassing and other work on the interior, and maybe a body kit this summer, but next winter I want to turn my 102 hp stock automatic into a 400hp+ turbo'd machine running on a LSD hydro tranny. How the hell? Where do I start? What engine would be cheapest/easiest for my mechanic to swap? And when should I do internal upgrades and turboing? before I drop the engine in or after I do a break-in? I am going to order my motor from hmotorsonline.com, are they a fast and reliable source of engines? Where can i get a turbo kit for the engine I chose? How much will the swap/turbo/manual conversion all cost? Any feedback is greatly appreciated, I obviously need some serious mentoring!!!!

-hmotorsonline is a very realiable source of motors, you can certianly buy with confidence from them

-there is not a turbo kit on the market that you are going to be able to make 400hp with out of the box, your best route would be a custom setup

-i recommend doing the motor build up before you drop the new motor into car, there is no need to break in the old motor if you're going to be rebuilding it with new pistons, rods, rings, etc

-if you're going to be doing all this motor work, i would recommend doing the conversion to the manual tranny- honda auto trannys are notoriously weak so you're either going to have to completely rebuild and strengthen the auto trans, or just switch to the manual- you'd be much happier with a boosted motor and a manual trans

Originally posted by here2chill@Apr 12 2004, 11:56 PM