87 CRX injected head swap into 87 CRX carbed

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

DBar

Hi im new to the homda world and i have some questions. I have picked up a 87 CRX carbed and i also got a 87 CRX that is injected. what i want to do is swap the injected head onto my 87 crxs carbed block and make my carbed crx injected. Both the CRX i have are running. but my carbed crx is in much better condition and is also insurable. what am i going to need to do to make this swap happen? im not shy when it comes to wrench time as i have a few cars and have a fair bit of knowlage. My main issue is i havent done honda work and i mostly deal with rear wheel drive Nissan/Datsun. so can i just pull the head and injected bits off the one crx and install them onto my non injected block and chassy? what will need to be done for wireing and what fule modifications will need to be done. any info or sugestions on this would be muchly appreciated. thaks for you time and i look forward to the honda worlds reply.

you will have to swap over the gas tank and fuel pump out of the injected crx along with the head. you will also have to wire up the fuel pump change over ecus. Also you will have to run a return fuel line from the engine back to the tank as well. It is a swap that can be done but there is alot of changes that have to be made

so if i take all the parts from the si car and swap them to the carb it will work. i was wondering if the heads are the same in the injected and the carb. is it just the manifolds and management that are different? also if anyone knows of a tutorial of this i would appreciate it very much thanks.

as it stand right now i want to pull all the fule components off the injected and swap manifolds and just use my carb head and block .

The heads are the same, the HF head is different. As far as fuel pressure, an inline add-on from Summit will do the trick.

I have a head for sale if you're interested.