1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

89 hb want to put a d16z6

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by dok, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. dok

    dok Senior Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    ok i can get a 89 civic hb but its dual port and i know the d16z6 in mulit port and vtec so can any one help me with the wiring and the motor is obd 1 it. Is it a bolt on swap ??????
     
  2. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    since it's a D series it is a bolt in swap.
     
  3. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    You need to keep your current tranny, or yuse another 4th gen tranny of your choice. Then you will need to change the drivers side L bracket on the mount. You will need I think the coolant sensor off of the back of your original block.
     
  4. dok

    dok Senior Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    ok guys the motor is coming out of a 94 del sol si and i can get any wires i need do you guys think if i get the wires from the tower to the ecu the wiring will be plug and play or do you guy think i should add the extra wires another thing the left side mount should be taken from the stock motor and used on the sohc motor thats what i heard :worthy: :worthy: help me guyz
     
  5. dok

    dok Senior Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    every were i look they tell me that i need to keep the 4g tranny why?????? i want to use the 5g tranny because the dx one rev's to slow
     
  6. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    The mounts are different between generations and you will have to convert for using a hydrolic clutch. Its not worth it in my opinion. Just get a crx si tranny or a dx or lx sedan tranny, preferably the crx si one.
    For the wiring harness just grab the engine harness and adapt the diffent plugs onto your engine.
     
  7. dok

    dok Senior Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    i have $$ if so one can do this for me or a b16a head and bottom end
     
  8. dok

    dok Senior Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    ok every thing works but the ecu does not how can i do it does but no vtec
     
  9. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    what in the hell did you just ask? oh wait....i see now- you have no vtec because you either didn't run wires for vtec or you didn't run them correctly- are you using the stock ECU in the car? if so, there is no vtec in that computer, you'll either have to use an RPM dependent switch, or a toggle switch to activate vtec
     
  10. dok

    dok Senior Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    I meant the car is a obd0 and the motor is obd1 so the p28 will not work and there is no obdo ecu with vtec the only one is the b16a 1 but thats to much for the d16z6
     
  11. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    yes i know- if you would have actually read my post you would have seen how you can hook up vtec properly-
     
  12. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    DOK, dude, I dotn understand you
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page