91 Civic Hatchback

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Zero2sixtyin3

89 EF Hatch D15B2 w/ 5spd
I am going to be doing a B16A swap into my 91 Civic Hatchback. I will be recieving the engine, 5spd tranny, ecu, intermediate shaft, all new motor mounts, new shift linkage, and a pair of new driveshafts. everything will be purchased at the same time.

Is there going to be anything else I will need for the swap?

Would anyone have any idea how much this swap would cost on average to have installed or is it easy to do it myself given all the tools, an engine hoist and a lift? I have some experience but never anything this extensive mind you.

What parts if any can swap directly over form a stock D15?

Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

And one more question, Is $2095 a good price for everything listed with $434 for shipping?

Last edited:
Shipping could be cheaper.

You'll need a conversion harness to use a P28 ECU, or just rewire everything by hand.

If the car is a STD, you'll need DX or Si knuckles/hubs.

If it's a D15B2 or B1, maybe just the evap canister.

That's a decent price, but I've seen shipping go for less(depends on area though).

so basically I need to get a jdm wiring harness from an SiR?

as far as I know its a dx Ill have to check.

and as for shipping, the company is located on the east coast and I live on the westcoast so its not too bad. Im looking and finding other similar kits but the come with used shift linkages, and mounts but new drive shafts and thats $2100 and the harness is included.

but Ive also found a place which includes
JDM Complete Engine
JDM ECU - PR3 Computer
JDM Clutch & Manual Transmission (5 speed)
Brand NEW pair of Yonaka Driveshafts (axles)
Brand NEW Yonaka JDM 4-1 ITR Header mild black steel, stainless +$50
Brand NEW Bolt-in Yonaka Motor mounts designed for 1988 to 1991 Honda Civic or CRX
and an LSD for +$300

for $1800
so basically $2150 not including shipping