1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

91 crx d16a6 Idle at 2500 rpm

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by crxnonvtec, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    its a 91 crx dx with a d16a6 swap, jackson racing supercharger, str cam gear, exhaust....I changed the iacv 3 difftimes all the same result, coolant temp sensor is good, swapped map two times same result, iat tested good, new distributor from cap to shaft, new main relay, new o2....vacuum tested good so did the fuel pressure...it runs great just stays at 2500 it dropped once when I drove it a lil and never did again. and no the throttle cable isnt stuck. also I had swapped the whole intake assembly back to the stock intake with all the components and still at 2500rpm. anyone got suggestions?? NO CODES!!!!
     
  2. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    fitv??? maybe redo the timing?
     
  3. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    timing is dead on and I dont have an fitv...I have something like it on the back of the manifold but I swapped that out too and did nothing
     
  4. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    hmmm are all the intake bolts tight?
     
  5. 89hatchd15b

    89hatchd15b now its a 91

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Acton, CA
    sounds like a vacuum leak. check all the hoses and intake manifold gasket and such.
     
  6. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    if it was a vacuum leak then y did the vacuum test good on the gauge? all the hoses are new and routed properly
     
  7. 89hatchd15b

    89hatchd15b now its a 91

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Acton, CA
    I had the same problem on my jdm d15b vtec and it was a leak at the intake manifold gasket. Does that engine have an idle control diaphragm next to the throttle?
     
  8. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    yes it has the diaphram but its sucking back and not touching the throttle the throttle blade is completely closed ...and all the vacuum lines are new and ran properly theyve been gone over multiple times...and the intake gasket is new and tightened properly
     
  9. 89hatchd15b

    89hatchd15b now its a 91

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Acton, CA
    I don't know, I have only seen vacuum or timing issues causing a high idle. I will have to think about this one and get back to you.
     
  10. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    dont feel bad it seems no one can help me with this problem
     
  11. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    yes.... ive gone through so much
     
  12. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    This may sounds stupid but have you played with the idle air screw on the throttle body at all? that may be out of adjustment. Also have you made double sure that there are no air pockets in the cooling system? The IACVs that you have been using were they new or used? did you try and take any of them apart and see if they came unscrewed inside?
     
  13. 78civic

    78civic Junior Member

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    NW MS, Y'all
    Loose nut behind the wheel? Just kidding.
    Try pulling the neg off the battery to see if something needs to be cleared electronically..?
    I'd first think it's vacume related. Try some carb cleaner squirted around the charger/intake. If it boggs, you know it's in that area.
    Lastly, call Jackson and ax them if this is a regular occurance?

    Keep us posted.
    E
     
  14. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    it did the same thing with the stock intake on also...and this has been on going for months now the battery is disconnected for days at a time sometimes.
     
  15. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    i would doubt three iacv's ...two off running cars would malfunction the same...and ive had the car up to temp with fan running and bled the coolant system no air was in it....still stumped and going nuts
     
  16. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    hmm...thats wierd..who did the harness?
     
  17. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    What ECU are you using?
     
  18. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    does your engine have a fast idle control solenoid valve? The 91 crx with the 1.6L engine has one....
     
  19. crxnonvtec

    crxnonvtec New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    i have 3 ecus 1 chipped from jet and 2 stock it does the same with all. no fitv it has something similar but u cant tighten anything on it like the obd1 models that was obviously one of the first things to pop up when i searched idle problems
     
  20. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    yea the d16a6 mani doesnt have that plate..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page