1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

91 si Dirt tracker

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by brett245, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. brett245

    brett245 New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    my buddy and i are building a 91 si for a team circle track race car...one drives, clutch, brakes, shift, and the other mans the throttle. :driver2: its got the stock D16A6 the rules leave a lot of grey area on building the car but it covers that the engine cannot be DOHC or no forced induction and must remain stock. Im looking for a cam for a reasonable price (were on a budget...damn economy) thats gonna give us reasonable gains without tipping off the tech guys. any suggestions?
     
  2. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    Did they say it had to be the stock motor that came in the car? The D16A6 or SOHC ZC?

    If not, why not do a minime swap. Z6 head will give you a little more. You can probably pick up a Z6 head for a couple hundred bucks. Just gotta run wires for vtec. If you wanted to, you could even chip the ECU and get it tuned. All that stuff is pretty easy to do, and it shouldn't cost you much. Provided it was all legal, it will give you a little advantage over stock applications too. Assuming you will be in the higher RPM's most of the time, the vtec will help out.
     
  3. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    oh damn, i want to see pics! and vids of it in action, too!
     
  4. brett245

    brett245 New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    well it says the computer has to be stock and has to be the original motor for the car, but im thinking...a bunch of chevy and ford guys wont know the difference between an A6 and a Y8. and that will be another 15-20 horse. its a half mile track so second gear should provide some higher revs where VTEC can spank the american boys if we swap but im thinking money is pretty tight to swap (fellow who im building it with just got laid off). what kind of gains would i expect to see with a port and polish?
     
  5. Slow&Delirious

    Slow&Delirious isn't fast or furious

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boonville NC
    port and polish if done right could add 5 or 10 hp, but if not done right could actually make the car run worse, so be careful.

    and best of luck with the racing
     
  6. ls/vtechatch91

    ls/vtechatch91 New Member

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    washington
    what i would do is get p29 pistons it will bump ur compression pretty good an a crower stage 1 cam....unless they do compression checks an stuff then the pistons wouldnt be a good idea..
     
  7. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    I still vote mini me swap. The block stamp will still say D16A6 on it, and unless they notice the vtec sol. they won't notice the difference in the head.

    When you say stock ECU, are you referring to the ECU that originally came with the vehicle? Or just an unmolested ECU?
     
  8. brett245

    brett245 New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    i like the idea of the mini me swap but what kinda change is that probably going to run us? i HIGHLY doubt they would notice the VTEC solenoid, none of the guys there are familiar with hondas. the ecu has to be stock, no chip or such. on the crower cam... will that still idle real smooth? if it has any thump to it the techs will know...i dont think they compression test in this class but you do have to run pump gas so if the compression would be much over probably 11.5 with the p29 pistons i think it would pose problems
     
  9. ls/vtechatch91

    ls/vtechatch91 New Member

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    washington
    ya it would still idle fine with the crower cam its only a stage 1 if the pistons r a no go then take the head an get it shaved like 30 thousands.... u should be fine with that
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page