92' Accord Engine Swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Manny D.

Hello everyone.
Let me start off by saying that I'm new to owning a Honda and I'm progressively learning more about the make.

I drive: 1992 Honda Accord EX - Automatic Transmission. Stock everything...

I simply had a few questions...

1) What is the most/best compatible JDM engine swap? (Considering fit, swap time, efficiency, etc.)

2) Is the engine compatible with an Automatic transmission? Do they even make engines that for that?

I know this type of information has been thrown left and right throughout the years but I can't seem to put it all together. I've read some contradicting posts and I'm just not sure what to believe.

I greatly appreciate the tips and advice.

An H22 is exactly what you want. It's a drop in, bolt up type of swap that replaces your stock motor and will bolt to your stock transmission (although I'd recommend swapping to an automatic H22 tranny for better gearing)...

Thanks for the input.

Yeah, a dude over at hmotorsonline.com told me the H22 transmissions were hard to find... I don't really know how true this may be.

Well that's cool. So if I get an H22 engine and transmission I should be good to go right?

Oh, and what's LSD? as oppossed to non-LSD?

...OR, this might just sound crazy, but:

Would replacing an automatic transmission be as easy as converting over to a manual transmission? mechanically speaking?

I can understand if it turns out to be a little more complicated but I just wouldn't know if it's worth the time and effort.

...any thoughts?

go to jhotimports.com and they have h22a engine and A/T transmission sets for like 1000 bucks that literally came out of the accord, now as far as replacing the transmission, i would keep it auto unless you really really want to spend some time converting it. but whatever you do good luck man!

LSD = Limited Slip Differential