1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

92 Civic B16a Rev Limit Probs

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 92 B16 Hatch, Mar 16, 2003.

  1. 92 B16 Hatch

    92 B16 Hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    I just finished putting a run of the mill first Gen B16 in my92 DX hatch yesterday. Wired the B16 distributor to the DX harness (crank and cyl sensors are reversed between the 2) Running stock P28 ECU, 94 EX injectors, and all the VTEC wires are hooked up, but for some reason the rev limiter is kicking in at 3 1/4K rpm's. It idles fine and runs smooth up until that 3 1/4 grand cut off point. If anybody has any suggestions, please help... I'm running out of ideas.
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    your ecu is in limp mode.

    try another ECU to see if that one is bad, any CELS?? you should have a constant CEL if you are in limp mode.
     
  3. 92 B16 Hatch

    92 B16 Hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    I tried putting my buddy sean's P30 ECU in but that made it more retarded as it wouldn't even idle anymore, and revving was rough. That ECU is fine because when put back in his 92 B16 SI hatch everything in his car ran great. what could have caused my ecu to go into limp mode?
     
  4. 92 B16 Hatch

    92 B16 Hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Also I do have a constant CEL. please tell me there's a way to clear this up...it was a slooow drive to work today :)
     
  5. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Is the knock sensor hooked up?Correctly?
     
  6. 92 B16 Hatch

    92 B16 Hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Ok, the knock sensor has been a problem from the beginning. I was running totally without it for a few hours and when I figured out it goes to PIN D3 on the harness, I hooked it up, took it up the street and Braaaap...ba...braaap...ba...braaaap -rev limiter again at 3 1/4. Do you think that if I unplug everything / battery, ECU, back up fuse .. that tomorrow morning it will be all set? Also, thanks for you guys' help.
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Deleted due to not reading the post right :p
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    ummm- hes running an obd1 ecu from the sounds of it. so that picture is kinda useles..

    we have p28/p30 pinouts in our articles section. check it out.

    from the sound of it- if youre rev limiter is hitting at 3500, it sounds like you def wired something wrong.
     
  9. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    yea. the constant CEL means a TON of shit is going wrong. what harness are you using? limp mode uses the LEAST amt. of sensors to run the vehicle.

    can you pull any codes?
    usually when an ECU is chipped improperly it does this, but in your case it souds like you have some shit backwards

    you did have to go obd0 to obd1.. how did you accompplish thiS?
     
  10. 92 B16 Hatch

    92 B16 Hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Well I threw in the DX ECU that came out of it and still had the same rev limit prob. Right now I'm going to change the fuel press reg. and then if I still have issues I'll suck it up and buy an OBD1 distributor because I have a feeling that's a big part of the prob.
     
  11. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    you tried to wire an obd0 dist in an obdI car? thats your problem.
     
  12. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    well shit.


     
  13. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    :( my bad,consider it gone :D
     
  14. 92 B16 Hatch

    92 B16 Hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Yup, you guys were right...either way you look at it, wiring an OBD-0 dist to an OBD1 harness just isn't going to work. I threw in my buddy's 95 teg dist. and the car ran great. Thanks for you guys' help.
     
  15. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page