1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

93 lude SOHC swap

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by ludekojo, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. ludekojo

    ludekojo New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    My question is will a f23a1 swap into a 93 prelude. I want to swap out my existing SOHC. Any advice?
     
  2. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I'm pretty sure it's a direct bolt in.
     
  3. ludekojo

    ludekojo New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Know here is my other question? I got the motor in and it did bolt right up but I am having a running problem. At about 3500rpms it starts to spit and back fire. The car is also running extremely rich, and no cel codes. I thought this should have been simple.
     
  4. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    What ECU are you using?
     
  5. ludekojo

    ludekojo New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    I had a chipped p08 and also tried usng a pp28 and a p14. I know the p14 is not a vtec computer but was just grassping at straws. There is know diffrence between those computers.
     
  6. ludekojo

    ludekojo New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
  7. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Why don't you try using the ECU that actually goes with the motor? Or using one that's chipped and programmed to run that particular motor? Honda ECUs aren't magical, they won't just run any motor you put them on.

    On a side note, what was the point of this swap to begin with? The only reason I see to do something like this is because you got the F23 for cheap and your stock engine was blown. Otherwise, you're making things way too complicated for a very minimal power gain...
     
  8. ludekojo

    ludekojo New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    The old engine was wore out and I got a F23 for only 200, and it was a direct bolt in. I am running a chipped p08. The car should run normal or maybe a little lean on a p08 but it doesnt. In fact it went threw 2 gallons of gas sitting in the driveway tring to figure out what is wrong. Do obd1 injectors go bad if so how can i tell also I am running a walbro fuel pump. Any known problems with the regulators.
     
  9. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Are you still using the engine's original accessories, or did you swap them to OBD1?
     
  10. ludekojo

    ludekojo New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Everything is obd1 except for the iacv and I have it blocked off. The car idles fine when warm. Is there any sensors on the f23 that I need to change. I have already changed the ingectors to obd1 and the map sensor and tps. I am talking about burn your eyes rich
     
  11. ludekojo

    ludekojo New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page