1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

93 octane chip?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by blink1_8_2dude, Sep 27, 2003.

  1. blink1_8_2dude

    blink1_8_2dude Senior Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    ok i have a obd-1 p72 on a gsr motor and i have this chip in my ecu that i have to run 93 octane and my check engine light came on and now the car sputters and runs like shit when i rev it over 3000 rpms does anyone now whats wrong? the chip was suppose to give me good low end.
     
  2. blink1_8_2dude

    blink1_8_2dude Senior Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    BIZUMP!
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    um, ok... what kind of chip? who chipped it? who soldered it in?
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    :withstupid:


    ???????????????? a chip shouldnt effect the octane at all

    do you have a stock ECU ... try swapping that and see if it runs ok
     
  5. blink1_8_2dude

    blink1_8_2dude Senior Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    ok at first i had to use a p75 ecu on my gsr motor then i purchased this ecu(p72) with a chip which was suppose to give me good low end. I just put the ecu in yesterday and know i cant get it over 3000 rpms. I bought the chipped ecu from blundar on here. It is the only chip in the whole ecu that you can just pop out and put another one in its place, it is towards the back of the ecu, so anyway what do yall think my problem is?
     
  6. blink1_8_2dude

    blink1_8_2dude Senior Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    oh yea and i dont have a stock ecu
     
  7. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    drop me an email. Sounds to me like something is going screwy. We'll get it sorted out.
     
  8. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
  9. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    you are going into limp mode.
    whoever chipped it did a half assed job.

    look at my webpage and see the correct locations/resistor values and see if they match.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page