1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

94 accord h22 code checking?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by -94-AccordH22, May 4, 2006.

  1. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    hi guys i got my new ecu and still throws so i need to pull some codes but i wont have access to a scanner until probably a week. but i know im getting closer becuase now it takes a couples seconds before the CEL comes on. before it took like a split second.

    but i was wondering if there was any way of manually pulling codes by lights. becuase i know on some cars you can cound blinks and what not. or is it worth the hassel just to wait till i get access to a scanner?

    TIA
     
  2. wanderinman

    wanderinman Senior Member

    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    A lot of shops will pull your codes for free (because they usually get business when they tell you what the codes are). Make some phone calls to local shops.

    Also you could try parts stores, I know the autozone near me has a OBD-I and OBD-II diagnostic tool they let you used for free in their parking lot.
     
  3. hondarin

    hondarin Please enter a value using 50 characters or fewer. VIP

    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Texas; where else?
  4. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    yea i dont know if this guy was a moron at autozone but he said the only loan scanner they had was 96 and up. and gay midas wants 87 dollars just to see what codes they pull.....way to much. but i might call a different autozone and see because i want to try to get it scanned by friday.
     
  5. accordguy

    accordguy Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Yo if you want to pull a code the easiest way to do so is to look under you glove compartment and you will see two plugs, one small plug, and one big plug. Take the small plug and take a single wire and insert one end of the wire into t one of the sockets on the plug, then do the same for the other socket on the plug (two sockets per plug). Now your check engine light will flash. A long flash = 10 and a quick/short flash = 1. So for example if you see 1 long flash then 2 short flashes, you have a code 12 for example. Also remember when it pauses, it ready to show you the next code, if it show you the same code twice then you have only one code and so on.
     
  6. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    a 94 Accord Scanner? Dude, just find the two prong plug hanging out by itself. Run a jumper between the two prongs(paperclip), and read the codes. It's very simple. Look behind the left side of your glovebox I believe.
     
  7. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    ok it throws a 3 and 17. MAP and VSS. what confuses me is. i have some pics from my old motor. its got GRN/BLU YEL/BLU RED/BLU for a TPS. and WHT/YEL GRN/WHT YEL/WHT for MAP

    but on the h22 there is only TPS there is no MAP on the throttle body? thats y its throwing the code. which means i cant find the wires for the EGR. because on the h22 both those connectors are taken. green yellow and red is on TPS now and white grn yellow is on EGR now??? im sooo confused....here is some pics of the F22b2

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    on the old motor there is TPS on the backside and MAP on the topside. On the h22 there is only TPS?
     
  8. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    bump for new question

    thanks
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    the map is on the firewall in a prelude. you probably have a high idle too since you have no map sensor.

    I think you can pull the old map off your accord and secure it in your engine bay.
     
  10. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    acutally its fluctuating idle. and i dont have my f22b anymore :cry2:. but if i got a MAP from a prelude (firewall map) could i just mount it somewhere and run the vaccum and connector? also do i run the vac to any open port on the intake?

    know of anywhere to get a map cheap. autozone and whatnot is like 200 bucks.

    thanks
     
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yeah they are 200+ from the dealer too...thats one of those things you gotta bite the bullet on.
     
  12. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    if i found a prelude sitting in a junkyard would you go for the opprotunity? i think its small enough to rob from the yards?
     
  13. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    definitely small enough, but those damn vacuum lines stick easily. probably better to cut if your gonna thieve.
     
  14. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
  15. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    alright i got a map and i fixed all the codes but the VSS one. but ill do that later unless it affects how the motor runs. but anyway. when i turn it on it idles real low like its on the verge of dying. then goes to 1K. ill rev it then it drops down to very low then after a second goes back to 1k. then when im driving and i jump on it....kinda hard to explain. jumps back and forth while im flooring it than starts tapping out at like 5 1/2 thousand?

    i put my dizzy to full advance but i dont know what you guys consider pinging?

    let me know what you think and that should rap it up for this swap.
    thanks
     
  16. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    TAB you are my god....thank you sooo much for that diagram and helping me through my post. my evap vacuum routes were mixed up.....geeze.

    appreciate to everyone helped me out. HS.com was the best helping me out during this swap :)
     
  17. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    :cry2: its still got flucuating idle. and ive never ridden in a vtec so i dont know how hard its supposed to pull in vtec but it doesnt feel that fast like everyone made the h22 sound.

    by the way on the evap canister. there is 3 lines on my accord one there is only 2. so ive got nothing to go to the evap sensor?
     
  18. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    VTEC makes a huge difference. Without VTEC, your car might have been faster before.

    I'd just follow the diagram I gave you for questions, but always use your old stuff. See, I had a 92 Accord that didn't need a map sensor added. You run your hoses exactly how they were in your stock Accord, just using the H22 instead. You may have to get a little creative, but you'll be fine.

    Set your timing to stock, while jumping that service connector, then remove the jumper. The VSS code is probably stopping VTEC, since your ECU relies on a speed reading to engage it.

    Oil Pressure
    Speed
    RPMS .........all needed for VTEC I believe. Since VTEC won't engage out of gear.
     
  19. -94-AccordH22

    -94-AccordH22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    yea. but im soo confused on my vss. ill see if i can take a picture but its not like others that i have seen. instead of plugging s connector into it , it has one coming out. black, orange, and something else. anyway. i dont know what accord colors off the accord harness. the book is no help it says orange and black and whatever but it doesnt say what color off the accord harness to use.

    so my vss isnt working...i guess the only upside is keeping my odo down :p

    and i wouldnt be able to use my old stuff on h22 because it needs a map sensor and the f22b's is ON the throttle there is not even a whole on the TB on the h22 so. but i got map covered. now its just vaccum. and VSS
     
  20. accordguy

    accordguy Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    I just Finished my prelude swap into my 95 accord ex and everything before the swap that could possibly go wrong went WRONG. Now the motor is in the car and everything is almost perfect ,no check engine lights etc. My engine idles high when I hit the gas but very quickly resumes normal idle. Vacuum loss somewhere is most likely the reason for this right I assume. Who did your swap dude.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page