1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

94 dx auto to d16z6

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by john07ex, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. john07ex

    john07ex New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    I have a stock 94 DX coupe automatic.
    Will a D16z6 from a 94 EX manual mount up and work on the P28 ecu with my dx automatic tranny?
    I dont wanny swap over to a manual just yet but i do want to install the D16 vtec.


    Also are the axles all the same whether the car is an auto or manual transmission?
     
  2. custompainter

    custompainter drive it like U stole it

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    central CT
    everything will swap right over but that ecu wont work
     
  3. john07ex

    john07ex New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Thats what i was thinking.
    What ECU could i use for an automatic D16z?
     
  4. supwhoaday

    supwhoaday New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    i have a 95 civic dx automatic hatch with with a jdm d15 motor swap. the p28 does work with the automatic tranny though. car runs fine except boggs a little bit at idle when you hit the gas.
     
  5. delsolcharlie

    delsolcharlie New Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Augusta< GA
    i have a D16Z6 stock in my 93 SI Sol and it is a P28 ecu...
     
  6. john07ex

    john07ex New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Yes but is it on a AUTO transmission?
     
  7. delsolcharlie

    delsolcharlie New Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Augusta< GA
    yep it is auto..im converting it to manual though
     
  8. john07ex

    john07ex New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Nice charlie..so a D16z6 will bolt up to the auto tranny fine? And the p28 will control the engine fine?
    You wouldnt happen to be in Fl would you?
    Was there anything odd you needed?
    vtec wire that about it right?
     
  9. delsolcharlie

    delsolcharlie New Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Augusta< GA
    you have a D15 bolted up to a auto tranny right now
    what is the tranny code??
    it has to be a dseries tranny anyways
    and a d16z6 will bolt up to any d series tranny there is
    and a p28 will run it fine
    as far as vtec...is should be on the engine..and the p28 ecu controls that ...you might have to get a new harnesses for plug and play...but other than that...custom stuff i wouldnt know how to wire it

    if your spending more than 500 700 on this engine..i would invest in a Bseries engine..you would be ALOT happier..i have a D16z6...its vtec and everything..but it doesnt have the punch of a B16....the D16z6 is also a one stage vtec if i recall...and a B16 is 2 stage or something like that..and it kicks in alot harder

    if your gettiing the engine for little to nothing..you will be happy with the performance and durablity of the engine

    my car with an auto ran strong to 100mph..
    from 100 on to 130 very sluggish but still pulled on
     
  10. john07ex

    john07ex New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    very cool..thanks man..yea i can get a WHOLE swp to 16 for dirt cheap.. like $300 i saw it running in the EX its coming from harness axelss linkage everything..thanks..
     
  11. delsolcharlie

    delsolcharlie New Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Augusta< GA
    damn good price then...new axles cost 65 a pop...thats half the price right there plus your gettin everything..aint bad

    since your going to get a d16z6
    look at this place
    [SIZE=-1]www.d-series.org/

    great place to learn about your engine/trans
    [/SIZE]
     
  12. importphanatic94vx

    importphanatic94vx New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    ABERDEEN,WA ORIGINALLY FROM YAKIMA
    just did z6 swap

    i just did the d16z6 swap into my vx..on my swap i had to use the vx motor mount on the drivers side mount that was it..it will plug straight in..you will have to use a d16z6 o2 sensor..and since yours is a dx you have to wire up vtec and like all the others said p28 is the way to go..i dont have a p28 right now ..im running a obd1 integra ecu..we did the swap in a day..like 13 hours with breaks..good luck man...
     
  13. john07ex

    john07ex New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Yea but my main question was will a P28 from a manaul work on my DX auto tranny ?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page