95 Civic CX Coupe needs a new engine

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Ggerg1186

I haven't played with Honda four wheelers in a while. My brother has a 1995 civic CX and he is pretty sure he grenaded the non-VTEC motor. (I don't know, because I live two states away and won't be there to help him swap the motor till later today)

He said he found a 1.6L VTEC engine from a 1995si. I am certain the engine will fit, but he is only getting the engine for $300. So my question, does he need the VTEC engine controller as well? He plans to keep his 5sp manual trans, so I assume axles and engine/transmission mounts should be OK.

Other answers that will help me search for my own answers...
I haven't seen this many acronyms since I was a civilian engineer for the army, I recognize OBD, and ECM, but can you tell me which model of engine my brother grenaded, and which model of engine should be coming from the civic si? When I get to Michigan I will be able to look at casting numbers, but I appreciate a heads up now if you don't mind.

It apears, from searching on this forum, that both cars are 5th generation, right?

Final request: Based upon the information I have given, which is all I know till about 10 hours from now when I get to MI, if you know of a thread that will help me out here, or if this is a bad swap, I sure would appreciate the answer and/or links pointing me to the information I am looking for.

both cars are 5th gens
both cars are OBD-1
1995 CX engine - D15B8
1995 Si engine - D16Z6
ECU he needs - P28
he will need to wire up VTEC
the D16Z6 will be miserable with the CX gearing... though coming from a CX he might not notice or care too much
mounts will be the same
dont know what exactly he is getting with this swap so i cant really tell you for sure what else he is going to want or need to get to make this work

good luck