95 civic engine swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

h22acivic

Hi, Im new to the whole honda world, I know a decent amount as I have many friends with hondas and acuras, I was originally a domestics guy, but I figured Id give the import world a try. Here is my plan.
I already have a daily driver that I use and want to make a moddest street car that I can whoop some ass in, now I'm 17 and I work so I can get some decent money.
At work I got a buddy that will sell me his 95 civic dx or hx, that has some minor wheel wheel rust through, and a crappy interior, many spills etc. for 900 the mileage is high around 150000 but it doesnt matter becuase the frame is perfect and the guy took very good care of it. I plan on gutting the car and swapping in a real engine. I want to get a engine that can make this thing haul so I was looking at gettting a H22a engine to swap in from a website called hondahopupsales.com, I talked to a guy there that said he could get me a full swap with the right axles, a lsd tranny, wiring harness and everything else except for the mounts for 2850 shipped to my door.
my questions are, what do you veterans think of the h22a civic swaps, I heard mixed reviews on it.
also if you recommend something else, what engine then. Money is obtainable so with in reason I will be willing to spend, by the way I will be upgrading the engine completly in stages, starting with the basics all the way down to the internals and hopefully a turbo come next summer.
I hear the engine is too heavy for the chasis but a while back I thought I read that there was a 40 pound differences between an h22 and a 18 but now that I think about it that seems off.
I want decent handling so thats one issue.
other questions I have are do you kow the weights of the engines, such as the b16s the 18s and the 22s, and about this company have any of you ever hearf of this hondahopupsales.com.