95 Civic H22A and LSD Tranny swap...

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

GreatJDP

I just recently bought a 95 civic with the 1.5 SOHC non V-tech granny engine and tranny... I'm buying a H22A engine with an LSD 5speed transmision... My question is are there any major front end modifications that need to be done to accomodate the LSD tranny.. My friend thinks my front end won't be able to handle the LSD. So I was wondering if anyone might be able to provide me with any info on this. I've tried searching online and so far haven't found anything yet. So would it be ok to to leave my front end as is or do I need to beef it up a little? and if I do leave it as is... what are my chances of encountering problem from the LSD transmission. I'm new to this and this is my first swap so any info would greatly be appreciated. You can post back here or feel free to email me. Thanks in advance guys.

I would suggest a solid cross member (Which I believe the cross member needs to be cut out and new one moved forward), sway bar, upper strut and stronger axles. There's a book on the swap but can't remember the name. I've seen H22 in numerous EG's and its possible to run the set up and not worry too much about the front end (But if you ain't breaking parts...you ain't making power) and that all depends on hp output no matter what size the Honda engine (B, H, K Series)

Good Luck!!

I think he's talking about the front end holding the load of both tires gripping at the same time with the LSD...not the size of the transmission