1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

95 d16z6 into 93eg 4 door won't rev but.....

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by huenglo, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    I bought a 95 ex with a d16z6 with my FAFSA money and drove it 2 days befor I was ran off the road into a ditch and totalled it. The engine still ran fine so I found a 4door ex(some @#%$&@ put an ex badge on a EG) with a blown head gasket. It was an auto but I changed the engine and tranny. I realized it was an EG so I swapped the floorboard harness. I have the exact setup as the 2 door ex now. A d16z6 with a p28 ecu. Now to the problem. It starts up right away and idles fine. I had to replace the the TPS and O2 sensor to get it this way and the exhaust manifold because it cracked the holes around the mounting bolts. When I try to give it gas it sounds like a car with a MAF sensor does with the intake tube off. This happens around 3000rpm. The engine is fine and I don't have any intake leaks. It pulls the roaming idle fit every now and then but around 1000 to around 1500. Ive been all over forum after forum and it has to be something stupidly simple but it has me baffled. Bought a throttle body with a good TPS. Map sensor doesn't throw codes either. I didnt know you had to calibrate the TPS. But like I said No codes are being thrown. If I cover the Throttle Body with my hand it dies so I assume no leaks, plus I have checked all the hoses. I have sprayed ether around the intake(while it's cold of course) to check for intake leaks and everything seems fine. I've owned 5 300zx's and if it were a nissan it would be the intake hose off the MAF sensor. That is the best way I can explain what the symptoms are. I did replace the floorboard harness. Is there a relay or something that connects to it under the dash that would cause my problem? What is the equivilent to a Mass Air Flow sensor on a 92-95 honda? in other words what sensor tells how much air is entering the engine? The TPS was on a stock d16 Throttlebody, Are you supposed to calibrate it? If so, How?
     
  2. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    I have found out that the MAP sensor tells the ecu the air volume. Besides the engine grounds and the black wires that ground at your left knee under the dash, are their any more places that the main harness grounds that I may have missed? that is the only thing anyone can think of.
     
  3. DIRT NASTY

    DIRT NASTY New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    LOL @ buying a swapped honda with student financial aid money (and then crashing it two days later)

    sorry but i had to laugh
     
  4. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    check and make sure all the vacuum hoses are ran right if the evap purge and fuel pressure are switched it will cause it to stop around 3000-4000 rpms..
     
  5. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    I put a gauge on my fuel filter and it is showing 80psi it had an adjustable regulator so i changed it to a stock regulator. I am stumped. it still has no codes and wont rev past 3000. ive checked grounds and everything. i will check the evap/purge canister in the morning. Thanx for any suggestions
     
  6. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    it idles absoluttely perfect and i ran it for an hour tonight but it wont rev!!!
     
  7. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    not the big canister, but the evap purge sylinoid on the back of the intake manifold..
     
  8. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    still cant figure it out. It boggs if you give it gas, Running 80 psi even with oem fuel pressure reg . Is there a relay under the dash(besides the ecu) that could be causing the problem? Any pinouts I should check to make sure it is right. I have a P28 and then bought a 95 civic ex to replace the A06 and four door auto motor I took out for a 5 speed setup with the d16z6? the Z6 came out of a del sol so would there be a dsifference in the engine harness?
     
  9. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    no the harness is the same but you do need to make sure the ecu is for a 5spd. have you double checked the vacuum hoses... fuel pressure should be 42-45 at idle and 48 full throttle...
     
  10. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    the ecu, harness, and engine came out of a civic I totalled and it is all for a 5 speed and it ran like a champ before I yanked it. It has to be the fuel pressure but what would cause the pressure to be 80 all the time ? I have tried oem regulators that I know were good. It had an adjustable FPR on it but it didn't change it either. Could the return and supply being swapped do it? I don't think the hoses would reach to do that though. I've turbocharged a weedeater but can't get a civic to rev!! I'm pulling my hair out. Does it have a fuel pump relay that would tell the pump when it has enough prressure?
     
  11. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    the fuel pressure regulator tells the pump how much fuel is being delivered... is the vacuum lines ran right...
     
  12. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    the vac line goes from the FPR into the intake. The evap purge on the firewall side goes to the canister. The other canister line goes to the TB. I'm pretyy sure that's how it's ran. I didn't unhook them when I swapped engines. I didn't use the same canister but the lines were only long enough to go that way. Oh yeah the tach needle hesitates when I try to rev it.
     
  13. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    the engine I took out ran fine except for a blown head gasket. Lol so the fuel system should be ok from the filter back. It was a D15something y5? I'm using the fuel filter from it. Surely that wouldn't matter this much. I just added a gauge on top.
     
  14. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    my evap purge valve has been JB Welded in the past. If it's leaking air then would that cause the 80psi fuel pressure?
     
  15. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    no but if that line is running to the fuel regulator then it will
     
  16. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    nope. The FPR just goes straight into the intake. It's only about 6in long.
     
  17. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    ok then is the rest of the vacuum lines ran right...
     
  18. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    the IACV goes to the bottom of the TB. Can't remember where the top TB hose goes
     
  19. huenglo

    huenglo New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    I can't think of any other vac lines to check. The valve cover one has a mini filter on it and the intake has one too
     
  20. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    You need to go to autozone and buy a quart of Synthetic VTEC fluid and top it off, works every time
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page