1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

96+ automatic civic cluster w/tach, work in a 96 c

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by CRXratedR, Mar 12, 2005.

  1. CRXratedR

    CRXratedR Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    i originally posted this in the car audio/security/electronic assesories section, but i was told to post here. i have a 96 civic dx with no tach. i was wondering if a 96+ automatic cluster would work. my friend has one and he was going to give it to me. but i dont want it if it aint gonna work. so will it? and if so, how do i do it? i would think that the automatic cluster will have more wires and mechanisms? is it possible? thanks for any help.
     
  2. LysergikkFuneral

    LysergikkFuneral Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    should only be wires, just disconnect and reconnect.
     
  3. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    they should swap out as long as it comes from the same car
     
  4. 92dxhatch

    92dxhatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Location:
    nor*cal
    make sure you are switching from an auto to auto or manual to manual. because there is a difference between the automatic transmission gauge cluster and the manual one. you CANNOT switch between an auto to a manual or visa versa.
     
  5. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota


    can too-

    i auto>manuel swapped my car currently have a 00 si cluster in myne - there is just a few additional plugs for the auto! but will work!
     
  6. 92dxhatch

    92dxhatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Location:
    nor*cal


    your right, it will work, but what i meant was it's not a direct plug and play. it takes additional work to do. sorry for the confusion
     
  7. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    all good - note your car always comes prewired for a tach - just dosnt always have one-
    retarded honda sense if you ask me !
     
  8. CRXratedR

    CRXratedR Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    thanks for the info. but do any of you guys know how to do it? i dont want to go in blind and end up messing things up. so maybe a how-to page or something. or a explanation of what to do. thanks again.
     
  9. 92dxhatch

    92dxhatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Location:
    nor*cal
    its really easy to do, take off the plastic trim around the Gauges and unscrew, unplug, and plug back in, now if your going manual to auto or visa versa, theres extra wiring, that i don't know, sorry.
     
  10. CRXratedR

    CRXratedR Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    I want to use a 96 automatic civic cluster in my 96 civic dx 5 spd. The automatic cluster has a tach and my dx doesnt. I want to use it because I can get it for free.
     
  11. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    its all plug and play simple- match the colors if you dont have the color on for the cluster dont worry cause your car dosnt have it being 5sp!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page