96 Civ CX swap B18 GSR

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

jamesB

Hey All,
I've owned my 95 EX for 4 years now and while it's been a fun car it's come time for a new one. While I could go out and pickup an rsx or something else new I don't know if I'm done modifying, so I'm looking at takign my wife's 96 CX and placing a B18 GSR in it. I've read everywhere that it should just be a straight bolt in but that I need to watch out for OBDI to ODBII conversion, a 96 CX is OBDII right? What type of problems should I watch out for, can you provide any tips? Is this whole process simple enough for me to accomplish in my garage (I've worked on cars before but I'm no mechanic). I'm looking at ARDPerfomance.com for the engine:
B18C (1.8 DOHC V-TEC) GSR
1.8 DOHC 16V VTEC 178HP Honda motor. Direct from Japan. Includes engine, transmission and ECU. Price includes truck freight .Direct bolt in for 94-01 Integra and 92-00 Civic. OBDI and OBDII available. Truck freight usually runs $250 within the US.
Engine, Auto Trans, ECU, Harness, Axles, Shift LInkage, and Mounts for $2695.95

If I were to pick this up what else would I need to complete the swap? anything missing from this package?

Finally what's involved in adding power steering to a cx? I could live without it but if I am swapping the engine I couldn't emagine the power steering would be anymore difficult.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

a 96 CX is OBDII right?

yeah 96 is obd2 so get a 96+ swap if you wanna stay street legal.

If I were to pick this up what else would I need to complete the swap? anything missing from this package?

first off you're going to need a rear tranny bracket (looks like a T) and
a drivers side mount from a 99-00 civ si (bolts to the engine under the
cam gears) all the additional mounts that come with the engine can be
used, unless you wanna have ac then you need an ac bracket and ac