1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

96 GSR secondaries??

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by bcivicsi, Dec 27, 2005.

  1. bcivicsi

    bcivicsi Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    On my 2000 civic SI with a 96 B18C1 I was wondering if the b16 wiring harness was used how would you get the secondaries to open?Could some one post a pic of the secondary sensor and where it would be located?I didn't do the swap myself a shop did it and cant get the secondaries to open they said the stock b16 wiring harness was used.Other than that Iam clueless.PLEASE HELP.
     
  2. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,129
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I'm pretty sure that you'd have to use a P72 and run the wire(s) for the IABs since the Si wouldn't have them in it's harness.
     
  3. bcivicsi

    bcivicsi Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Would it do anything If I just kept it open all the time?
     
  4. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    :werd:
    Make sure you are running a gsr ecu, buuuut make sure it's a gsr ecu that has the option for the secondaries, i don't think the newer ones has secondaries.
    Wire them straight to the ecu.
     
  5. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,129
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    yes. Leave the settings alone.
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I thought they were open as default and that they actaully closed when engaged? Eh, either way just hard wire from teh sensor, through the firewall, to the ECU and tape it into the harness.
     
  7. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,129
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    If they're anything like the secondaries in my old Escort, the vacuum pressure kept them closed until 4500 rpm (4800 rpm on the GSR). After that rpm, the vacuum would release the valves so the extra air flow could take the shorter runners giving more air at a higher velocity.

    I'm sure they look something like this, which is the setup on the 91-96 1.8L Escort;

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Yea, maybe it's the circuit that's open and when they engage the circuit closes and they (IABs) open.
     
  9. Rx7

    Rx7 Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Its just like this. It's a two wire solenoid right... one is signal to the ECU and another is a 12+ wire. If you wanted to look neat you can use the cannon plugs or just go straight to the ecu. Either way you end up at the ecu lol. And for the 12+ you can just tap into IACV or your evap purge control... since those 12+(yellow/black) wires are right there in that area. Its A17 on the ecu I believe for signal. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

    The butterflies work like this. At idle and below 6000 rpm the ecu tells the solenoid at the vacuum chamber to hold vaccum at the butterfly valve and hold it closed until its time to open up(6000 rpm).Once 6000 rpm is reached the ecu tells the solenoid to release the vacuum in the chamber therfore releasing the vacuum and no more vacuum is applied to the butterflies and therefore open up allowing that beautiful wedgie giving feeling.

    Jeremy
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i thought there was only one wire for the IAB or is that only the OBD1 (in where it was wired to A17)
     
  11. lsturbohatch10

    lsturbohatch10 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tn
    leaving it open is just like puttin the skunk2 manifold on isnt it??? you just need a little bit of fuel pressure. a friend of mine has a 96 gsr with skunk2 im and it runs really strong throughout the power band.
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    No, not really, as they are completely different shapes and the runners are different lengths and diameters, so it's going be be very different.
     
  13. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yeah it is different...i dont know why i bother checking the b-series stuff. the rest of the people on this board have b-series down to an art.

    *puts tape over the civic/teg boards*
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page