1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

96 hatch b16a2 vtec not engaging

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by r1paniccia, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    hey guys im new to the boards and hondas as well. ive been poking around for a while and decided to buy a hatch. the car car is a 96 civic with a b16a2 swap running p72 ecu and gsr tranny.. there have been several problems with the swap which i have fixed. the one which i dont know where to begin is my v-tec is not engaging. any ideas? i bought the car with the swap done and i really dont have any local shops that deal with swaps so im pretty much in the dark here. looking for a little guidance and direction where to begin. maybe some articles or diagrams.. thanks in advance guys much appreciated.
     
  2. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    im betting that the check engine light is on.... get the codes and it will point you in the right direction. or let us know what the code(s) is and we can help more.
     
  3. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    yes it is on. ik one of the codes is p1279? if i remeber correctly v-tec malfunction. there are also a few others. i beleave one of them is bc there is no 2ndry o2 sensor. i will post back
     
  4. Dj211855

    Dj211855 New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    what model is this?
     
  5. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    ek, or so it says on the trunk. please forgive me im totally new to the whole import thing.
     
  6. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    ok so iscanned it with my actron scanner. im throwing 2 codes. one is p0325 -Knock Sensor Circuit Malfunction,and the other is p0141-Technical DescriptionO2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1, Sensor 2)any help is appreciated guys. thank you in advance
     
  7. Dj211855

    Dj211855 New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    hx,dx,cx,ex.

    hx and ex harness are identical w/vtec wires. The other model wouldn't have vtec wired IN. Maybe this is something you have to do.

    On your code, if you go obd1 the ecu will not look for knock sensor plus secondary o2. If you wish to stay obd2, then wired them IN if they are not wired IN.
     
  8. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    after peeking around under the hood i noticed the knock sensor was not hooked up and the wiring to it was cut and taped away in the harness. shouldnt this be hooked up? ithe car is currently obd2. i plan on boosting it in the future and going to obd1. really looking to get v-tec working befor i go anyfurther with mods. what do you guys think? my oil is full and clean. the v-tec solenoid screen is clean.
     
  9. Dj211855

    Dj211855 New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Dude,,,,,this is something you have to ask yourself.

    Is the F*****vtec wire YO!!! hook up.
     
  10. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    the vtec wire is hooked up. all wires are hooked up except for knock sensor. why dont you read my post. i aked if not having the knock sensor hooked up would affect my vtec
     
  11. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    if the ECU is looking for it :yes:
     
  12. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    and a p72 ecu odb2 would look for it correct?
     
  13. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  14. Dj211855

    Dj211855 New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    If the vtec you said its hook up then vtec should work. I'm not sure why you said vtec is not working. Hook up the o2 and knock sensor to stay obd2. Otherwise go obd1 if you don't want the hassle hooking up the secondary o2 and knock sensor.
     
  15. RHDism

    RHDism Right Hand Drive guru

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
  16. r1paniccia

    r1paniccia New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    *UPDATE* the V-TEC pressure switch was bad. i replaced the solenoid and new oem gasket. and walaaaaa i got v-tec again bwaaaaaaaaaahhhh! thanks for the help guys
     
  17. 98EkSi

    98EkSi New Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Glad you got it working
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page