1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

96 Integra Swap Problem, need help!!

Discussion in 'Integra' started by SE-Rious_91, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. SE-Rious_91

    SE-Rious_91 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    im doing a swap for a friend.. he brought me an JDM OBD1 B18C engine and his His stock block is B18C1.... everything looks fine and the same.... but theres a problem the engine he brought me, it doesnt Have a Crank Position Sensor.....is there anyway i can put it in... or i cant use the engine...... or i have to buy an OBD2 engine??? anyone???
     
  2. myah

    myah Neu Impact Performance

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    ks
    y don't you just use the one off the b18c1 i think they should fit up
     
  3. SE-Rious_91

    SE-Rious_91 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    i think they do but i have remove alot of crap to put it in... i think i have to remove the oil pump cover and put the other one in.... what happens if i dont put it in....
     
  4. myah

    myah Neu Impact Performance

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    ks
    it will make the car run like crap
     
  5. SE-Rious_91

    SE-Rious_91 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    so what should i do swap in the old pump cover and all???
     
  6. SE-Rious_91

    SE-Rious_91 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
  7. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    you have to use the oil pump from the obd2 and the timing belt cover.
     
  8. SE-Rious_91

    SE-Rious_91 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    r u sure, cuz one of my friends told me that if the crank doesnt have the holes for the crank sensor i cant use it, i have to get an engine with the holes on the crank... or if the crank already has the holes.... so far i removed the timing belt cover and i cant find the holes for the crank sensor.... or i have to remove the oil pump to find out???...
     
  9. SE-Rious_91

    SE-Rious_91 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    im really confused, i was looking at some b18c1 GSR cranks on ebay and they dont have holes.... so this will work just by switching oil pump covers????
     
  10. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    yes i am sure. i have a obd2 block and didnt see any holes in the crank. the crank sensor reads off the timing belt cam on the crank. the crank sensor sits on the outside of the oil pump. your going to need the gear, the sensor, oil pump, and the obd2 lower timing cover
     
  11. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    The crank angle sensor picks up its pulse from the timing belt gear that resides on the crankshaft... All you have to do is swap the oil pump, timing gear, and lower timing belt cover from the OBD2 motor to the OBD1 motor and it will work fine. I've done it several times.
     
  12. SE-Rious_91

    SE-Rious_91 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    yea guys thanks for your help... i did it and it came out smooth.... thanks....
     
  13. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    thats what we are here for
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page