1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

96GB Kingston V+100 SSDs back on at $105AR

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by phunky.buddha, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Kingston V+100 SSD 96GB $105 AR($50) Amazon - Slickdeals.net

    These are some of the SSDs I bought two weeks ago. Not Sandforce, but also no Sandforce reliability problems, and no OCZ flakiness. Better garbage collection than Sandforce by a long shot, so better for non-Win7 systems and RAID arrays. Good rebates too, unlike OCZ...
     
  2. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    so tempted. Apparently newegg business has 15% off ssd plus the rebate. It comes out to 87ish after all said and done.... and creating new account is easy and just put 0 for the tax column.
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    Solid state drives make it like the late 90's all over again!

    Holy crap, you have a 16gb hard drive!?!?!?!?!
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yeah I saw that... might jump on another V+100 and shove it into the PS3 since PS3 doesn't do TRIM, then run the 64GB V100 in the HTPC. So tempted. Or get 2 more and make a 1GB/s RAID-0 setup in the main PC. :D

    Eh, I'll have about 180GB of usable SSD space on the main machine- which is plenty after turning off hibernation and the swap file. I'm still considering whether or not to keep my 2x640GB platter RAID for video processing scratch space, so I'll still have some spinning storage making noise- but a new case with more Dynamat in it will take care of that.

    In any case, once a package from Newegg shows up tomorrow my home server will have 7TB in it- enough to last at least a little while. ;)
     
  5. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,934
    Likes Received:
    740
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    I need a TB worth of SSD for part of my sample library.

    4 Pianos worth of samples takes up 250GB of space, my string samples take up 500GB =(
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Do you need access speeds/times that fast for your samples?
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    my array is 240GB. plenty for everything i have
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    my ssd has wow and windows 7 on it. fuck everything else. NO LOADING SCREENS!
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yeah- LOVE the speed so far. Still not done setting up the system, but damn it feels good. Going to try and set the games to run inside RAMdrives too since I have 16GB to swim in now. :D
     
  10. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,934
    Likes Received:
    740
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'd like it. If I load up one of the nicer samples I have, it can take 45-60 seconds to load.

    I just bought a faster 1tb drive hopefully it will move slightly faster. If I knock off 10 seconds I'll be happy.
     
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I know when 1TB drives first came out they were all 5400 RPM and the 7200 RPM was a 50 dollar price jump. If you're doing that upgrade it makes a world of difference.
     
  12. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    F it. 1TB of PCIe SSD. youre baller.
     
  13. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,934
    Likes Received:
    740
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
  14. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    I just picked up one last week. Loving it. As far as HDD goes, its these or the Western Digital Blacks if youre looking for speed. However, the F3s have better thermals and a few bucks cheaper to boot. Just some FYI though, people are snapping these up since Seagate just bought Samsung's HDD divison.

    Anyway, im just waiting to jump the boot to SSD. Everyone is loving them, but I cant justify spending anything on computers for the moment..
     
  15. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    My dads got the REVO 240GB PCI-e SSD, shit is fucking wicked fast.
     
  16. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Ooh. I'd love to have a few of those. ;)
     
  17. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    meeh, you can do that yourself and save with RAID-0 two sandforce yourself...

    btw, the deal is back on amazon for those are still trying to get some of those kingston drives..

    i feel finicky about Kingston now. I bought a 16GB micro SD card and its f**ked already with less than 3 months of use. I think manufactures should always pay for shipping both ways in the first year if the device fails.
     
  18. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    96GB is just not enough... when 250GB is under 300 bucks i'll bite.
     
  19. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Buy 3 of them- that'll be under $300 on the current deal.
     
  20. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i cant fit more than 1 of these drives in my laptop.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page