97 Civic EX check eng light on

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

dreamstriker

OK here goes the best I can

97 Civic EX 2DR
someone before me changed the motor this is what i know for fact

D15B8 block and Y8 Head and after market manifold with cold air intake

This what it is doing

• hard shifting cold or hot
  • comes out a gear when changing
  • no power on take off sometimes
  • when you let up on throttle it will take off and run very good
The check eng light is on and reads no codes
I am new to the Honda away been a Chevy truck builder myself just look for the first place to start. Please Help!!!!

sound like you have wiring issues (check eng light with no codes on OBD2 car) and you have trans issues (hard shifting and pops outa gear) and you have a worn clutch (slow response to take offs).

I have looked the eng over all plugs are cont. but one it is loc right under the intake just be hind the alter. and a bud that is in to the the V's told me that told me that the trans needs flushed or vacuum was off the trans. This trans does not have vacuum that i can find all wired.

so why was the block changed from the D16Y7 or Y8 to the D15B8? (the D16Y5 is the only JDM block offered in the 97 civic EX) but that aside, what trans are you using in your car?

the y5 came in the usdm 6th gen hx it was also vtec
yea but i was refering to my dealer info...as far as he 97 civic EX model is concerned the Y5 only came on the JDM model while the Y7 and Y8 came on USDM cars. what ecu is used on that hx you mentioned? this could be an issue with his check eng light. could a JDM ecu have problems working with USDM engines?

the trans coming out of gear is just that a trans problem, could be a number of things. are you sure you checking the codes right. are you putting it on a scanner or checking the codes by hand