97 civic hatch worth it???

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

prtuner88

this is my first post and i would like to let all kno that i usually have a lot of questions, i do read around first tho and try to find the info b4 asking.

ne ways i'm lookin at buying a 97 civic hatch. what i'm wonderin is if ne one knos if people have been able to get good power out of the stock motor. i kno engine swaps are usually the best way to go but i wonder if ne one has had high hp outcomes of the stock motor. the reason i ask is because i would hey to start hooking up parts such as intakes exhaust etc if i will never make a high amount of power and end up doin a swap and lose everythin i put in. instead i would rather just save for the swap from the beggining.

so if ne one can gimme ne ideas or show me cars with the stock motor that are hooked up lemme kno please.

thanx alot

abi

Start saving, im not a expert but from what I understand it'll be very expensive to hook up that engine. I have a 97 hatchback civic dx. Its still stock and I need a transmission for it to get it running smoothly. Im gonna get me a k-series because thats the best way to go for me. Its expensive but worth it. The only money im going to put into my stock (d16y7) engine is whats necessary like oil changes, spark plugs, little non-expensive things until I do my swap.

yezzur

yea thats what im thinkin the stock motor is mad weak. jazzproparts.com has all the jdm motors. i'm lookin at the b18c1 gsr motor the price is kinda nice and it seems to put out decent hp. yea the k20 is pricey but ur right its worth it. u plan on puttin turbo or supercharge or u just gonna run motor and work off that?

you can get decent hp out of the d-series, but, you will spend a LOT of money just to get to where a b-series starts. its not really worth it unless you are just a diehard d-series fan.