97 del sol zc swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

'im gettin that fo sho!'
hi everyone, i have a 97 del sol with a blown y8 and i got a zc dohc with tranny, ecu, well everything, and i know the motor is odb0 and im guessing my car is odb1(grey connectors) so i need to know what do i need to convert the wiring, i cant find any good information everything is kinda strung out and off topic, and btw this will be my first attempt at swapping a motor, so correct me if im wrong, im a newbie lol

You picked a rediculous combination.

You've got an OBD0 motor if your right, but you've got an OBD2 chassis.

Have fun with that one...

rywire.com may be able to help you make it easier. But you have a ton of wiring to be done. And I don't even know about shift linkage or motor mount placement.

i looked on rywire but im not sure what im looking for

the motor seems like it will mount right in, but ill just have to see when i get there

It may, like I said I do not know.

The only thing I do know for fact is there's a lot of wiring involved. You did not make it easy on yourself for a first time swap'er, that's for sure.

lol well i picked up a 91 crx for 400 with everything and i overlooked the small matter of the large amount of work to do on the wiring, and since it was close to a d16 i figured it wouldnt be too difficult, and im pretty sure it will bolt to my stock tranny aswell, but i figured either way it was cheaper for the time being instead of buying a b16 and b tranny, but now its looking like its time to invest into a different swap, cuz the zc isnt all that powerfull to begin with

Of course it's up to you, but I also forgot to add, you can call rywire and tell them exactly the harness you need and they should be able to help.

I'll buy the crx :)

Well if it cost him 400 and he took the motor, I'll gladly buy it for less than, as long as the frame is straight oh well.