1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

99 civic se

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by hp 213, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. hp 213

    hp 213 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    im new to these forums and im looking for a little help. Ive been researching what would be the best engine to put in my civic. its a 99 special edition 4 dr sedan and i want to put a b16a2 in it. would this be a direct bolt in plus the vtec wiring? or is there something i need to do with the ecu? or is there more? thanks for looking :)
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    A B16 won't bolt up to your D-Series Tranny, so you'll need a B-series transmission as well. If you've got an SE, than I'm assuming it's automatic? If so, then you can use a transmission from an LS Integra, or you can search around a bit and probably find an automatic B16 or GSR Tranny that's been imported from Japan.
     
  3. hp 213

    hp 213 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    It is a 5 speed. what if i were to buy the complete swap like engine tranny ecu all that would it fit or would i need mounts? thanks for the help btw
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah, you should just buy a complete swap. That way the engine will be paired with it's ideal transmission. As far as mounts go I don't believe you'll need any special mounts if we're talking about a 96-00 Civic. All the aftermarket mounts I've seen say they will work for both B and D-Series motors. You could take the opportunity to upgrade to aftermarket mounts while the motor is out, but it's not really necessary unless the stock ones are bad or you're actually going to be racing your car or building the motor for a lot of power.

    By the way, are you in the US? The "SE" thing threw me off, I was thinking of the SE Accords, which only come in automatic. Come to think of it I don't think there even is a Civic SE in the States.
     
  5. hp 213

    hp 213 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    im from canada, and i dont see many se's up here either. the main reason im looking to get a swap is because i cant find any parts for this car. my shop said something about an o2 sensor in a different spot then the other models? i cou;dnt even find a header that would fit in it. One other thing, the engine im looking at buying comes with an ecu, so deos that mean it doesnt matter if its obd1 or 2?


    thanks
     
  6. hp 213

    hp 213 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    NS, Canada
  7. christ.deyoung

    christ.deyoung CRF450R

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    hey buddy...Im from NS too. And yes it does matter to an extent. You're gonna want to keep it OBD2. Makes things easier.
    And I just purchaced a 2000 civic hatch (SE), but am planning on putting an OBD1 GSR B18 in it so it can be easily tuned for boost. I don't know exactly what I'm getting into yet. I just hope its not a ridicuous amount more difficult to perform.

    Little help?
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    You should look for an OBD2 motor. It will be the easiest to install into a car that's setup for OBD2.
     
  9. hp 213

    hp 213 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    even if the new engine comes with an obd1 ecu?
     
  10. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Well if your car is a 99, then it's wired for OBD2. When compared with OBD1 systems, an OBD2 equipped vehicle is going to have more emissions-monitoring equipment (an additional o2 sensor for example), as well as just a lot more monitoring equipment and sensors in general.

    You have two options. The first is to buy an OBD2 ready motor and run OBD2. The second is to buy an OBD1 motor and ECU, and then you will need a conversion harness to convert the wiring in your car to be compatible with the engine's wiring.

    There are lots of places that do conversion harnesses. Check out Rywire - Online Store and see if they have what you need. The other alternative is to hack up the harnesses and try to splice them back together yourself. It can be done but I'd rather spend a few bucks and have somebody who's well-experienced in such things do it for me.
     
  11. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
  12. hp 213

    hp 213 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    sweet thats just what i was looking for. so a second generation b16a with that harness should be the way to go? thanks for the help, i really appreciate it.
     
  13. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yep, that's the way I would go. Using an older motor and converting to OBD1 is going to cost you less, and be easier to tune.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page