1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A/F gauge question

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by xj0hnx, Apr 26, 2004.

  1. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    So I got one at a retarded price, installed it, and now have a pretty light bouncing around next to the VAFC.

    Well, at idle, I can get it to hang out in the stoich zone by adding some fuel via the VAFC, but if I run it flat it is all the way lean. Now I now these are really just voltameters dedicated to the o2, but how accurate is it? Should I make any adjustments based on it, or should I just wait till my wideband gets here?

    WooooWOooOoooooooooOOooo...

    [​IMG]

    It's like Mo' Fo' Las Vegas up n hurr!!!
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the only time the non-wideband reading is semi accurate is at wide open throttle.
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Problem with that though, is that at wideopen throttle the ECU is running premade fuel maps, that are rich for power :( So it is just stuck on the rich side.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    well, don't go by it. its really a BS reading without the wideband...
     
  5. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    :werd:

    my a/f gauge sits on full rich when i idle, then goes apeshit when im on the gas.

    i dont think its actually telling me anything, but the lights look cool.



    edit: oh yeah, my point. as far as a/f gauge accuracy, you'd be just as accurate thumbtacking a Timex to your dash and writing 'a/f ratio' on it with a sharpie. i'd go with the 'wait for the wideband' option.
     
  6. Eskie

    Eskie Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    wait.. whats a wideband ?
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    The o2 senson in your car reads the exhaust for how much fuel is left, and sends a signal to your ECU to tell it, "hey, give the motor some more gas", or "cut it back". Problem is they only can detect a general ballpark amount, a wide band can detect an exact ratio. This is why you want it for tuning, you're essentially tricking you ECU into thinking it is in narrowband (normal o2), but you are reading wideband, so the ECU doesn't change fuel, and you can do it manually through a engine management of some kind.
     
  8. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    @1r 5p3nc3r 0w|\|z j00!!!!
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    #377 y34, 5#17 5/\/\3775 |30/\/\|3|)16617Y
     
  10. Eskie

    Eskie Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    w0rd 35k13'5 @ n00b!
     
  11. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA

    1 607 7#3 6161 7\/\/0 ----- |33$7 41|2 |=|23$#1|\|3|2 3\/4|2
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page