adjusting brake master cylinder pushrod?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

stmotorsports

I've never done this before, is there any way to do it correctly without the special tool?

just for reference, the car in question is a 2000 Civic Si

anyone?

PEDAL HEIGHT
  1. Disconnect the brake switch connector, loosen the brake switch locknut, and back off the brake switch until it is no longer touching the brake pedal.

1. At the carpet cutout, measure the pedal height from the right side center of the pedal pad.
Standard Pedal Height (with carpet removed):M/T: 156.5 mm (6.16 inch)
A/T, CVT: 161 mm (6 5/16 inch)</B>

1. Loosen the pushrod locknut, and screw the pushrod in or out with pliers until the standard pedal height from the floor is reached. After adjustment, tighten the locknut firmly. NOTE: Do not adjust the pedal height with the pushrod depressed.

1. Screw in the brake switch until its plunger is fully depressed (threaded end touching the pad on the pedal arm). Then back off the switch 1/4 turn to make 0.3 mm (0.01 inch) of clearance between the threaded end and pad. Tighten the locknut firmly. Connect the brake switch connector. CAUTION: Make sure that the brake lights go off when the pedal is released.
  2. Check the brake pedal free play as described below.
PEDAL FREE PLAY
  1. With the engine off, inspect the play on the pedal pad by pushing the pedal by hand. Free Play: 1 - 5 mm (1/16 - 3/16 inch)
Pedal Free Play

1. If the pedal free play is out of specification, adjust the brake switch. CAUTION: If the pedal free play is insufficient, it may result in brake drag.
copyright 2007 alldata

WOW sweet info there- someone should maybe make that a sticky

only prob is I was looking for the procedure for the pushrod clearance adjustment- ie measuring/adjusting the distance between the end of the pushrod and the mc piston