1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

adjusting engine height

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by Obd1c1DA9, Feb 28, 2009.

  1. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Sup yall,
    So i have a clearance issue with my B18c1 fitting in my da9. Thing is i'm using hasport mounts and they're causing clearance issues with my cf hood, all of the mounts were a direct replacement but what i want to know is would it be wrong in any shape or form to lower my engine by adding no more than quarter inch thick polyurethane spacers in between the engine and frame mounts? all meet horizontally so it would drop evenly if i went thru with this, other than that is there anything i should watch out for?? (will post pics if needed)
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    get a hood that fits. the motor shouldn't move. wrong geometry there will have you snapping axles all day
     
  3. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    yeah that makes sense too but my axles are already on an upward slant that had mechanics cringing....i could live with it rubbing but i just payed 500 for the hood and its already getting f'd up, has anyone heard of this happening? i know i have after market mounts but it just doesnt seem right for a b series swap not to line up..
     
  4. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    the hasport mounts sit the motor just like stock. ar eyou sure you have the right mounts?
     
  5. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    this mechanic i left it to ordered them...the hood has to be held down to be fastened, i have heard of these clearance issues before but it almost seems like a 1/4 inch down wards wouldnt hurt the shaft angle and only something like a side ways angle would be bad but would the hub/suspension/wheel assembly actually adjust outward with the drop or would it just add all of the pressure to the ends of the axles?
     
  6. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Cut some of the webbing out on the hood.
     
  7. fast sol

    fast sol Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    1/4 inch drop is not bad enough to wreck CV axles, especially if your not running high Torque numbers . dont worry about pushing the hub out, your inner joint on the CV is meant to move in and out with natural movement your your susp. that slight angle wont push it to the limit. but i agree those mounts should put it to stock, but if all else fails, try dropping it a hair, if it still doesnt clear, go for the hood webbing as meantioned in a previous post
     
  8. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    Why did you even get replacement hasport mounts? The stock mounts would work just fine. Add so motor mount inserts if you wanted to beef up the mounts a bit.
     
  9. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    i did an auto to manuel with a jdm b16 on the car as well so i did everything at once. As for the drop im planning on using a 1/4 inch thick flat cut piece of polyurethane for every mount that i can im just not sure if the rear tranny mount bolts up flush like the others...
     
  10. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Why are you using polyurethane? I'd use steel plate, the shock absorption is already built into the mount. You don't want to add any.
     
  11. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    good question. im not really sure why id use polyurethane, steel plates sound good but if i go with a steel plate wouldnt using a washer do the same thing? my car does also vibrate quite a bit too so thats why i was leaning toward an absorbing material.
     
  12. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I've seen people adjust mounts with washers, just don't go crazy and try to stack 20 washers on a 6" bolt. Also the Hasport mounts are inherently stiff and cause added vibration.
     
  13. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    As long as it wont get loose, im sure with some lock tight it should be ok but yeah... didnt expect so much vibration for the $400+ price tag of those mounts. They're so tight my engine moves like a hair when being revved, oh well there probly good for traction or something lol
     
  14. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    fixing the hood > fixing the mounts that are proper.

    did you at least try the stock hood?
     
  15. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    no but im using an oem vis, whats the difference if its to oem spec?
     
  16. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Just try using the stock hood. That's the simplest thing you can try first.
     
  17. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    nah, lol i just payed out the ass for the cf/two tone paint and my car finally looks unghetto but my hood is OEM spec! whats the difference??
     
  18. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    and i dont even have the original hood either, im just trying to do everything clean while doing it the right way because im sure webbing out my hood would a. look ghetto and b. prob take a few years off the life of my hood...pics are coming soon lol
     
  19. Obd1c1DA9

    Obd1c1DA9 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Heres the pics, you can see the rubbed off paint and idk if its me but it almost looks like the passenger side of the engine is higher...
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    maybe washers would be a bad idea?

    [​IMG]
     
  20. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Ick, that's some nasty paint rubbage. Its fucking up your VC.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page