1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AEM CAI

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by honda_mach3, Dec 12, 2003.

  1. honda_mach3

    honda_mach3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    you guys know if you swap out a D16Z and plant in a B18C, can you still use the AEM CAI for the B18C?
     
  2. NotUrAverage_Si

    NotUrAverage_Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    :/
    I doubt it, but may be you can custom fit it in there somehow.
     
  3. honda_mach3

    honda_mach3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    the chassis is very similar right? i looked at the one for the GSR and it looks practically the same.
     
  4. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    the IM sits lower, guess you could try to get it to fit, it might work
     
  5. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    2 things, one easier to fix then the other. One, the Throttle openinng on the GSR is about 3 inches where the d series is about 2.5. Easy fix is just to find a connector that is the right size.

    Now for the harder issue to fix. The IM is alot lower on it. I would just modify it by making cuts accordingly. Check out Teamdelsol.com in the article for a DIY CAI. It gives some good pointers when you cut the tubing.
     
  6. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Just sell the old one, and get a new one, it shouldn't cost you too much extra, and then youd have the right CAI.
     
  7. brc80

    brc80 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    Southern California
  8. h22bubbleback

    h22bubbleback Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Location:
    North Jerzey
  9. Hatchbacks Anonymous

    Hatchbacks Anonymous Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Anonymous
    Which one is the right one? I have never herd of a company that sells CAI for civic's with GSR's in them. I have asked the same question and nobody ever answers the question really. Everybody just says " :drool: duh...uh....maybe a Civic SI intake will fit...maybe not.... Dude I know for sure that people have made their own cold air intake for civic's with GSR motors but nobody ever tells what pieces they got. Most people just say to just get a custom one but most performance shops won't let you sit out front of their shops with your hood up and take all their products out of the boxes and say " :drool: duh...this one might fit....

    *This post is not aimed at anybody specific.*
     
  10. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    I'm not sure if you could use a civic si CAI or not. If you have an aftermarket IM, then it will most def. fit, since there is basically no difference between your 96HB and the 99-00 si as far as the engine compartment goes. If you have that pos two stage oem manifold, i dunno. I would try an si one first. If it doesn't fit, then sell it and get a gsr one and try that. You will definitely be able to sell the ones that don't fit for about the same as it will cost you to buy it. Trial and error buying already built CAIs with little to no loss of cash is much better than the frustration of trying to fab your own parts.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page