1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

aem intake??

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by panchovilla760, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. panchovilla760

    panchovilla760 Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    for all of u w/a b18a, i just ordered a aem intake for my hatch w/a b18a now em i going to have to relocate the battery or can i leave it. if i do have to relocate how do i go about doing this??? also will this intake work on a b18b manifold???
     
  2. mwvnos

    mwvnos Senior Member

    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    SC
    you shouldnt have to relocate your battery...what model hatch do you have (4th gen, 5th gen)? the intake will work on that mani but might not on the car....since its made for an integra, it may not work right in a hatch without some simple modification....
     
  3. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    im betting its a 4th gen as this is in the EF/DA section.
     
  4. panchovilla760

    panchovilla760 Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
  5. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    You shouldn't have to relocate the battery. I have a 91 teg, and the battery sits just next to the opening for the intake.
     
  6. MofongoY2K

    MofongoY2K Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    Pancho Villa, please let us know if the Integra intake works. Also, let us know if you are going for a "short ram" or "cold air intake". I find myself with a similar catch-22 and would be very helpful to know about your results.
     
  7. panchovilla760

    panchovilla760 Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    just got my short ram intake for my b18a, now i have a 91 honda civic hatchback and the dam intake doesnt fit it looks like i have to cut a piece of the intake because it too long and i might have to relocate the battery. i got the intake for a 90-93 integra. so what about everyone else with a b18a in there hatchback how did you go about this???????????
     
  8. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    you shoulda bought it for the hatch not the integra
     
  9. hammerdgolfer

    hammerdgolfer Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    buying the right intake for your car would be the start of the end of your problems
     
  10. MofongoY2K

    MofongoY2K Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA

    Choosing the "right" intake might not be as simple. Intakes for the integra are tuned (length and diameter) for the flow rate and throttle body size of a 1.8L while those for the CRX are not.

    ;)
     
  11. Gen2Teg

    Gen2Teg Senior Member

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    san francisco
    no you get the intake for the car, not the motor. some intakes from some cars might work with others, but in this case it won't work.
     
  12. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    or you could just get one of AEMs new hybrid intakes for swapped applications, so you know it fits.
     
  13. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD

    could you show me a link? i just checked AEM's website and found no such intake
     
  14. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    yeah they arent on their site yet, but they are in the new SCC they have them for stuff like

    B16-EF
    B18C1/5-EG
    H22- EG
    K20-EP

    i dont know if they have a GSR-EF one or not check out the new SCC for the blurb on em.
     
  15. MofongoY2K

    MofongoY2K Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    I called AEM yesterday and they said those intakes aren't available yet.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page