1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

after market shift light

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by 89hdarex, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. 89hdarex

    89hdarex New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    I have a shift light that i want to install. does anyone know where i should hook it up to??

    i want it to come on at 6K, and i have no idea how to make it work and come on at 6K.

    Can someone please help me?????
    :(
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well theres 2 types of shift lights one kind takes pills that control when the light comes on the other has a dial on the back that you set. so depending on witch one you have either set the diaa to 6,000rpm or put a 6000rpm pill in.
     
  3. 89hdarex

    89hdarex New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    it has a pos and a neg wire on the back, it looks like it was on a big tach. is there anyway i can get it to work the way i want or is it no good??
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well if it dont have a place to put pills or a dial on the back im thinking its no good
     
  5. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    you will need an rpm activated switch..then you hook up the rpm switch,,red to pos. and black to neg, there should be another wire coming from the switch you put the red(pos) to the wire coming out of the switch and the black(neg) to a ground

    oh and there should be a wire that intercepts a signal from the tach,that goes to the tach wire/green wire from the dizzy,this rpm switch will run off the "pills" that ahhvtec mentioned
     
  6. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    if it was on a tach already then what i just wrote might not work,,but give it a try!!and in between the red wire on the light and the wire on the switch you should put a resistor,or fuse...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page