1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aftermarket tach

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by crazkene13, Oct 10, 2004.

  1. crazkene13

    crazkene13 Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Please post me a link if this has been answered
    94 cx hatch, cx harness w/vtech wires added, cx gauges=no tach :angry:
    website says "negative side of ignition coil"- how can i figure that out?
    can i use a stock wire,
    the one tht signals the stock tach or in my case the anoying little green arrow light? if so ne1 know what color that wire is ?
     
  2. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Blue wire, behind instrument cluster.
     
  3. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I always found it easier to wire it into the ecu, so you dont have to go through firewall, or take out gauge clusters. He wont have the wire in the gauge cluster anyway, it's a CX. what ecu are you running?
     
  4. webink_EK9

    webink_EK9 Senior Member

    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    I know your way would be easier, but isn't there a tach wire in the cluster plug even if you don't have a tach? I know I don't know much, but if you can plug and play clusters with tachs into a CX or DX that means there's a tach wire right?
     
  5. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    forget bout the gauge cluster.

    I run the tach wires in my car(vafc, and autometer) to the ecu. There is the RPM signal wire going into the ECU(comming from the engine).
     
  6. crazkene13

    crazkene13 Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004

    Sounds good, what abbreviation is that on the pinout chart? I only recognize about half of those ( or what pin?)
    Thanx for the info
    oops forgot to mention I'm using a chipped p08
    D15B (jdm)
    ex tranny(manual)
    stereo w/no display :p
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    If you want to be lazy, you can head over to the Apex'i web site and grab their VAFC installation manual. It has just about diagrams of just about every OEM Honda ECU in there for you to look at and pull the tach signal off of.
     
  8. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Actually, the 94 CX should have the wire in the cluster.

    Honda made the interior harness universal for the DX, LX, CX to cut costs.

    HOWEVER, they installed a less expensive cluster.

    Also, the Tach wire goes in the drivers side wireharness, crosses the dashboard, then back to the ecu. You can find it at the drivers shock tower and at the cluster.

    Blue wire, meter it in AC mode, rev the car, see the meter move, WINNER!
     
  9. mugen

    mugen Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Lucky people with stock tachs... My civic never came with one b/c its one of the lower models. It's easy to install an after market tach. The hardest thing about installing one is being able to get the wire inside the ignition cap to the negative side. There is a little screw that you can wrap the wire around. But taking off the cap is fairly easy, better if you have 2 people working on it. One person in the car "popping" the ignition so you can get the disk to rotate in order to take it off. Everything else is common sense.
     
  10. JKOBD.com

    JKOBD.com Wiring Guru

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Engineer at the Source
    You can get this signal from the pin A21 on the OBD1 side of the ecu/harness.

    Jason
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Very true. I just like to wire stuff the hard (aka stupid) way. :lol:
     
  12. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    you should also have a blue wire some where next to your brake resivor it will be in a ruber boot for storage this is your tac wire for diagnostics and stuff. i could be wrong on this though i may have it confused with a EK
     
  13. drpenguin

    drpenguin Senior Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Salem, Or
    you could goto a junk yard. pick up a new gauge cluster and just plug it in. My ex had a civic with no tach so we went and pulled one out of a EX. I just pluged it in and the tach worked fine!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page