1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

air/fuel ratio install

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by monty92, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    which wire do i use off my 02 sensor to install an air fuel guage? 92 integra b18
     
  2. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    There is only one wire on a 92 teg's oxygen sensor. And that is the one you are after. Unless you've converted it to a wide band..
     
  3. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I'm pretty sure the ECU needs that wire more than your A/F meter.
     
  4. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    yah i know but i can splice into it and i have an ls/vtec with a p28 ecu i think its a 4 wire i havent checked tho
     
  5. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I've always wondered whether it is common practice to splice the gauge into the sensor which the ECU uses and whether that has an adverse effect on the accuracy of the readings.
     
  6. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    couldnt tell you. im just trying to figure out what wire i need to use.
     
  7. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I thought you left the stock 02 sensor alone, and ran it to a wideband used exclusively for the gauge/tuning.
     
  8. DESPAIN

    DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    flower mound TX
    i would like to know this also. anyone?
     
  9. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i dont know. im trying to figure it out myself.
     
  10. DESPAIN

    DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    flower mound TX
    well post pics of the install if its good it might get stickied. i dont think we have any ref. material on this subject yet.
     
  11. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i havemt installed it yet cause i havent had the chance. plus no idea what wire ill use
     
  12. DESPAIN

    DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    flower mound TX
    did it not come with directions? that sucks.....
     
  13. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i got it used from a friend. and he had it installed already in the car
     
  14. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Personally, I'd run it to a dedicated wideband. I wouldn't risk hacking up the o2 sensor and causing problems with the ECU readings.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    If it's a narrowband gauge it MUST be used with a narrowband o2 sensor (i.e. tie it into your factory o2 sensor)

    If it's a wideband gauge it must be used with a wideband o2 sensor (typically aftermarket)

    Sounds like you just have a gauge, so you need to tap into your factory o2 sensor.
    The wire color is black on the o2 sensor harness and then changes colors to white at the plug, and is white on the car's wiring harness I believe.. Don't quote me on that I will try to find some more information on it later tonight and see what I can dig up.
     
  16. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    yah i just got the guage. im trying to figure it out but no luck. in the book i got 2 wires. a white wire and orange/black going to the ecu
     
  17. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    its an red, purple and black coming off the guage. auto meter pro comp ultra light guage.
     
  18. 95EGCoupeVtec

    95EGCoupeVtec SOHC VTEC at its best

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    red would be power for the gauge to come on, black wouls be ground. the purple wire would be a signal wire that would get tapped to your signal wire on your stock o2 sensor. if it was a wideband gauge, it would have a wideband o2 sensor with it, and a harness and other stuff. i think the signal wire for a 4wire o2 sensor is green, i think.
     
  19. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    92+ is obd-1 and uses a 4 wire...

    :werd:

    Don't confuse that red for 'power'... The gauge will work and the rich/lean indicator will light up with the signal of the o2 sensor. That red wire is for the backlight so it lights up when you turn on your parking/headlights.
     
  20. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Connect the purple wire to the white wire at the ECU (splice into it).

    Red goes to a switched 12v power source that comes on with the key

    Black goes to ground

    Keep in mind that narrowband gauges don't really do any good when you're trying to tune.
     
    1 person likes this.
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page