1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Air/Fuel

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by darwins_vtech, Mar 19, 2004.

  1. darwins_vtech

    darwins_vtech Senior Member

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    hey, i am hooking up my airfuel gauge, and I was wondering, which wire on the ECU do I have to splice into. Thanks a lot.

    Darin
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you want to tap it into the o2 sensor wires.

    what ecu? what car? what wire harness?
     
  3. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    i ran an acessory wire out to about 6in off the O2sensor in my engine bay, BUT it made me throw a code, and i still cant figure out why.
     
  4. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i've noticed that the same gauge will give you "faster" readings if hooked up to the o2 sensor in the engine bay as compared to the wire that runs to the ecu...

    this makes absolutely no sense at all to me, but its tried and true...

    friends accord had it hooked to ecu incoming o2 wire and it was slow as hell, but then straight to o2 and it responded right as your throttle position changed... very odd...

    but you can do it either way, check the pin out for your ecu and just hook it up to the incoming o2 wire... or straight to the o2 in the engine bay for better results...

    EDIT: and your name would imply that you LOVE cheap phones or what? vtech?

    AND: auto zone.com has a repair section WITH wire diagrams that have ecu pinouts so if you know what ecu you have then you should be all set with that site and the information it has... check repair and then manuals
     
  5. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Wherever you take the signal from (sensor or ECU) remember do not solder the connection. Especially if you take it at the sensor. The solder can interfere with the signal.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page