1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD vs. Intel

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by CRX-YEM, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Anandtech review.

    to make a long story short AMD kicks intels ass, but you've gotto read it for yourself
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    why would you buy a budget cpu...

    i bought my dual processor board, and BOTH p3 1ghz s370 cpus for 170, almost a year ago. that aint bad.
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i bought my first amd... even went with the barton cuz it was supposedly better...

    im not hapy with it at all. my next build will be intel
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,015
    Likes Received:
    3,944
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    my next build will be an AMD 64 :D
     
  5. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    AMD runs too hot to be run here. I burned one up last summer.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    My roommate's XP1700+ is starting to die after just over a year- and he hasn't overclocked it, moved it, or undercooled it at all. His system just randomly locks up and slows down... and yes, he is an Electrical Engineer that knows what he's doing with computers. He's ready for a new chip.
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,015
    Likes Received:
    3,944
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    no problem with my XP1700+ at all (almost 3 years)


    maybe they just dont like it down south :shrug:
     
  8. brc80

    brc80 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ive been running amd chips sense my 486 days never had a problem with them.
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Maybe, who knows... I don't want to bash AMD- they do make good stuff and I'll still buy their chips- but I've had the most success with Intel chips.
     
  10. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,015
    Likes Received:
    3,944
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    yeah but you're one of those overclocking maniacs that try to make a poor little innocent 500mHz processor run at 6gig speeds
    ive seen the radiator on your PC.... its bigger than my fluidyne in the sol

    something about the smell of torched copper and silicone just makes you smile.... you sick bastard

    :lol:
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werd: :lmao:

    Melting chips is fun fun fun!

    Really though- I had a TBird 1.4 that I never overclocked- and it died within a year. My roommate's XP1700+ was never overclocked, and never even moved- it's on its way out. I've had my share of fragile Duron cores that would just break from being moved while in a system, and it just doesn't make me a fan of AMD chips. The new processors with the integrated heat spreaders are definitely a step in the right direction, and if I can test an A64 and have it be more stable and compatible than the new P4s, I'll get one when I upgrade the main system. Until then, there are still too many little quirks for me to run AMD on my main system.

    My budget systems are all AMD chips though. :lol:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page