1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

amp is cutting out?

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by 1993hondadelsol, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. 1993hondadelsol

    1993hondadelsol New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    i put my car audio in my del sol i have a kicker 500x1 and a rockford 400x2 on my highs here is what is happen when u turn the stereo up the highs amp rockford keeps cutting out i have everything ran right can anyone tell me why that amp cuts out but bass amp-kicker keeps playing
     
  2. 94civicturbo

    94civicturbo New Member

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Liberty, IN
    make sure all of your connections are good, check your power, ground, and remote wire
     
  3. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    probably your ground, make sure its on clean bare metal
     
  4. TheLemon

    TheLemon New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    hmmmm.possibly the amp?? too much for the amp?? Myself would try a different amp...
     
  5. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    when the amp cuts out it usually means its getting overloaded. problems are a wire some where is not connected properly. solution run down each wire for secure connection. also ground must be on good metal. scrape paint off. use magnet to justify it is metal and not aluminum.
     
  6. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    Try turning your gain down to minimum. I have seen many amps that have a auto sutdown when they start clipping badly due to gain set to high. Does this amp have a protect light on it?
     
  7. justastockef

    justastockef New Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    jax, fl
    how loud are you playing the music when it cuts out? how long are you playing the music at that sound level? where are your amps mounted? are they mounted somewhere that they can get a reasonable amount of airflowing over them to cool them off?
    to adequately tune your system, do the following:
    turn the gains of both amps down to 0
    turn the volume of the radio to where you normally listen to it at (75% max volume at most)
    now adjust the gain for the highs amp (fosgate amp)
    turn the gain up until you just hear distortion (cracking) then turn it back a little (shouldn't be turned more than 50%-75% )
    now adjust the frequencies (crossover should be set at highpass)
    now adjust the subamp
    turn the gain up until you just hear distortion, then turn it back a little
    now set the frequencies (set crossover at lowpass, 12" sub - 80 to100hz, 10" sub 125hz-150hz
    that should give you decent sound. since you are using amps to run all of your speakers, the equalization controls of the radio aren't changing the sound since no speakers are actually hooked to the radio
    basically the reason for backing off on the gains is that you NORMALLY listen to the system at that level. with the gain preset at that level and then backed off... you should now have no more issues with your amp cutting out.... UNLESS your amps are getting overheated and thermally shutting down to protect them.
     
  8. trappd-in-859

    trappd-in-859 New Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    burlington, ky
    Sounds like it's going into protect from getting inadequate voltage. From the stats I dug up, it looks like your amps draw anywhere from 70-140A of current depending on the amp settings and volume level. A del sol alternator puts out roughly 60-80A depending on condition, 60% of this power will be used up by the vehicle's stock electrical system. So, you are left with 24-32A to run your aftermarket accessories. I hope you can see the problem here lol.

    I would either upgrade your alternator to an HO unit, or get a 4-channel amp rated at 4-500 watts to power your sub, mids, and highs.
     
  9. 1993hondadelsol

    1993hondadelsol New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    ok

    were i buy this alternator
     
  10. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Amps will go into protect for various reasons. Often...there will be an LED that expresses the status. The OP said everything is hooked up right (although it never hurts to check). He should also check this LED when it shuts down. If its wiring...he wont have any LED and if its in protect mode....it will probably be red.

    Because its designated as a mid/high amp...I say it's the amp acting up and not a power starving issue. The Sub amp would bring that to your attention before the mid/high did. You could get a capacitor to take care of the power issue...but I doubt power is the main problem going on here. I think the amp is fading out and about done.
     
  11. trappd-in-859

    trappd-in-859 New Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    burlington, ky
    Ohio Generator is a very trusted, reliable brand. You could also look into Powermaster and DC Power for other options.

    Good point. If it was just a voltage problem then both amps would cut off at the same time. But, low voltage is still an issue in his situation and without correcting that it will shorten the life of his equipment and his cars electrical system as well. Also, capacitors are merely a band-aid and in some cases actually make voltage issues worse.
     
  12. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    you shouldnt need an altenrator just yet. You should upgrade the battery to an optima yellow top,red top or just add another battery. Your alternator is doing its job but the reserve capacity isnt enough.

    If you have insufficiant power ALL of your external amps shut down. Unless your lights are dimming than you should be ok with the little power you are feeding it. It never hurts to add some more power though, less strain on the alternator.

    It seems your ohm load, or possibly a bad speaker is the cause. make sure none of them are grounding out.


    do you have them bridged? if so how did you do it?
     
  13. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    all the fosgate issues i ever had, were them overheating and hutting down. it didnt take much :lol:

    which is why i no longer own them......
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page