another dumb distributor question

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

yOnKiNaToR

first off, i have a 92 lude which had an h23 in it. i now have a newly installed jdm h22 with internal coil distributor. i'm not an electrician, but i figured out that i needed to run a wire from the coil to the battery (temporary) to get it to start if using the h22 distributor. i'd like to use the new distributor that i received with the new engine rather than the old distributor.

i've searched around honda-tech, collectiveracing, and here. the only thing i've found is from 2point6 on how to convert the old distributor to an internal coil one. instead, how do i use the new distributor? can it be converted to external coil, or is there a way to wire it using the the internal coil? any help much appreciated.

sorry if this was explained in earlier posts; i must have missed it.

i'm not understanding what you are trying to say. first off............
a. what is wrong with your car
b. what are you trying to do.

well, my car is messy; i have vtec and distributor wires all over the place. and obviously, i can't leave a hot wire from the distributor to the battery all the time.

i'd like to be able to have the distributor work with minimal wiring and mess

i had to buy a new distributor when i did my swap because mine was bad. but jdm motors (like mine) have internal coil and usdm have external so i had to use my msd blaster coil with the new dist. because of the fact that i had to buy a usdm dist