another stupid question

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

rondogg779

i am new to the whole honda thing but i would like to know how to tell which motor i have.i was told that it is a 1.6 v-tec but would that be a b16 d16 or what?it is a 1994 honda civic.if anything just post some pics thanks

on the front of the engine on the left side of the block right next to where the tranny bolts up there will be a flat area with a code stamped into it

engcode1.jpg

engcode.jpg

depending on how filthy your engine is you might need to scrape away a layer of shit to see the code... a large flat screwdriver works well

ok to add to my stupid question....my motor is a b16z6 in comparison is it better or worse than other b16??or just a small explanation of which order they do in according to power and performance.thanks again

I think you need to check it again it should read d16z6 or someone is messing with you. Someone correct me if im wrong the civic did not have the B16 until 1999 and the del sol had it as an option from 94 until end of production. Also the motor in the car should be a single cam. The picture above is a B Series motor.

yeah i typed the wrong thing sorry.but i found a wrecked gsr and were going to go with that motor (b18c1)but im not sure on the tranny.i was told i could go with the b16 for shorter gears any opinions?

The B16 tranny is a lot of fun, but you go through the gears pretty quickly. You also sit rather high in the rpm's at highway speeds. The GSR tranny is a little less aggressive than the B16 tranny, and, IMO, provides a better balance for different types of driving as far as gearing. The LS tranny is going to be a dog, but it will probably save you some fuel.

I would stick with the GSR tranny if you can get it with the motor. It seems to have a good balance between them all...